olda lady olda lady olda lady who

2002-10-10

Inexplicably a little cranky today. I had a headache earlier; took some ibuprofen and it went away. I think the cranky is just residual.

Not a lot to talk about today. West Wing was good last night, I thought, but what was with that teaser for next week?! Toby's getting back together with his ex-wife? MY Toby?! This is unacceptable. He is my Personal Fictional Super-Secret Imaginary Boyfriend; he's not allowed to get back with his ex. I am not pleased. Aaron Sorkin, you better watch out. And I think Mfoxm's right about the show preparing to lose Rob Lowe. I don't want him to leave--Sam is a great character. I love Sam. What will we do without Sam?

Did you ever happen to see the Saturday Night Live that Rob Lowe hosted and where he was Shaggy (from the Scooby Doo cartoons) in a skit? Because people, he was the best Shaggy EVER. Better than the cartoon Shaggy even. I was incensed when that Scooby Doo movie was made and he Wasn't cast as Shaggy. It was a gigantic injustice and I hope the producers have repented a million times. Not that he would necessarily want to be cast as Shaggy in that film, but he would've been better than old whatshisname. A travesty.

Reason number 957 why I love the interweb--you can always find people you like. I Love the AtomicFriends, but today and yesterday, out of boredom, I also tried another message board and those people are Not loving me. I'm starting to wonder if my posts there are visible to anyone but me, I'm being ignored so strenuously. Back to the AtomicFriends I go, and I will not darken the other board's door again.

People have weighed in on the vaginal births vs C-section conundrum, and a theory is in the works. When I thought about it I realized that the high number of people I know who have C-sections is probably due to most of my birthing friends being at least in their late 20s, if not in their 30s. It would seem that the younger you are, the less likely you are to have problems leading to a C-section. In general. This is a generalization. No one should get mad at this, because I'm admitting it's a generalization, alrighty? I know people who are exceptions to the rule, but most of my friends who are somewhere around my age have had to get C-sections. Boy's mom was 17 when he was born, and she had only a 4 hour labor, start to finish. I know women who would KILL for a 4 hour labor. Now that I know just exactly what Boy's mom is like, I sort of wish she'd had a much longer and more painful labor, but of course not to the detriment of Boy. This is not a nice thing to think, I know, but it's not unjustified. So there you go--yesterday's question has been answered, at least to my satisfaction.

One reason I was thinking about birthing (besides those given yesterday) is that one of my coworkers announced she's pregnant again--she had a baby about 2 years ago and she's going to have another (their 3rd). She's in her early or mid 20's, and has never had any birthing problems, so I imagine this next birth will be fine too, but of course I will report back. I'm all about other peoples' business.

I'm having a lot of fun with this lately. I highly recommend.

No progress on the sweater last night--I was feeling logey.

Love,

E |

cats-kittens

come over some time & see me - 2011-02-25
let's not say goodbye - 2011-02-23
the Rachel Zoe collection - 2011-02-10
I feel happy today - 2011-02-04
the tiny snow stalker - 2011-01-25

design by simplify