a Nutella junkie

2001-12-06

Hello. Not much to report. I do want to say that if you need to clean your mouse (computer mouse, obviously), Simple Green is the stuff to use. Never has my mouse sparkled so!

Did I tell you the resolution for the mother in law cat? When I was out shopping last Sunday, I came home to find Francisco not at home. He arrived back about 1 minute after I did, and I asked him where he'd gone. After some hemming y hawing, he said he had just taken the cat to a shelter. Francisco's mom told him that was the only thing she could do with the cat, because she realized she couldn't really take him back, as she has been unable to find a place where he could go outside, and that is what he lives for. I felt awful about the shelter for a minute; I felt that if I wasn't so selfish and unwilling to put up with cats constantly growling and hissing, and that cat yowling and waking me up several times per night, he wouldn't have had to end up there. But then Francisco told me that the lady who talked to him about the cat at the shelter told him they would have no trouble adopting the cat out. Apparently young healthy Siamese cats are in high demand--she said he wouldn't be there long before he was adopted. Hopefully he has already been adopted. I think I'll go down there on Saturday and see if he's still there. If not, then we can be happy he has found a new home, and if he IS still there, I can visit him and pet him and call him by the name he's used to. He's not a bad cat, and I feel very sorry that he's been uprooted like this, but I have hopes he will find a permanent home, and maybe even a home where there is a barn full of tender, juicy mice. He does love a succulent mouse.

When Francisco picked him up from his former residence to take him to the shelter, he also picked up the cat's possessions--mainly a bag of the variety of food we call "the solid-gold food". Our girls eat Science Diet, but for awhile we were buying the solid-gold food, aka Royal Kanin. It is about $32 for 10 pounds, which is significantly more expensive than the Science Diet. Our girls liked it pretty well, but they barfed frequently when they were eating that food, and the whole reason we bought it in the first place was because we thought it would help them not barf so much. Anyway. We decided we might as well feel them the hand-me-down solid-gold food, since we have a bag of it, and the first day I put it in their bowls, they ate like pigs. We had to pick the bowl up because Esther was gorging herself, and we just knew she would barf it back up if we let her eat as much as she wanted. Or her stomach would split like a ripe melon. Their food intake has returned to normal, but it was somewhat gratifying to see how much of a treat they considered this food. Maybe we'll have to vary their food a little more in the future.

Last night Francisco went to some kind of lecture/meeting while Boy and I stayed home and pretty much did our own thing. I made us dinner--a turkey linguini thing that turned out pretty well, I must say--and then he drew and watched television while I worked on The Blanket. It's taking forever and I think I'm going to need more yarn. The finished product is supposed to be 3 feet long, and I bought 3 skeins, which would mean 1 skein = 1 foot of blanket, but I'm down to about 1/3 of the first skein and I only have 6 inches of blanket. Hence my suspicion that more yarn will be required. There was a ton of this yarn at the Walmart, but still I think I will go back asap and get another couple skeins, just to be sure I have enough.

Francisco got home after West Wing had already started so I had to fill him in on what had happened so far, quick, on the first commercial break. I have previously lamented that I didn't start watching the show until this season, because it is so good and I wish I had watched all the other episodes. However, last night's show was a rerun from a previous season, and it made me realize that there are advantages to coming in so late in the game. So to speak. Because all the episodes are All New for me and Francisco, and that's a good thing. Damn, that is some good show.

Speaking of which, Survivor tonight! I sense eyes rolling--people taking umbrage at Survivor being called a good show. Well, maybe it technically isn't "good", but I find it very entertaining and I will continue to watch it and talk about it without apology. From last week's teaser, it would seem that Lex might be in danger of getting voted out, but those teasers aren't always accurate. I hope he isn't voted out just yet, because I like looking at his tattoos.

I have come to the conclusion that I cannot buy Nutella. It seems to be the one food I find impossible to ration; we always scarf it right up, especially me. I first sensed I had a Nutella problem when I was talking to someone else about Nutella, and she asked me what I eat it on. My honest answer, "A spoon", seemed to horrify her somewhat, so I guess other people are more sparing with their Nutella. I cannot be sparing, so therefore, I cannot buy it. I told Francisco that he could buy it for him and Boy, but that they needed to hide it from me, because if it's visible in the cupboard I will get out the spoon and start in. For real.

Hey, here's a question: Have you read that book, Eating for Your Blood Type, or something like that? I have been hearing more about it lately, and apparently some people really like the results they're getting from the blood type eating, so I am taking an official poll. I'm very tempted to buy the book, but I bought The Zone and regretted it within 5 minutes of beginning reading. And that rotten book was $25! The blood type book is at least in paperback. Anyone have any info for old tattoobelly? Anyone?

Okay, I think I'm done now. I'm going to go home and do the new usual--have dinner and then work on The Blanket.

Take care--talk to you tomorrow.

Love!

E

|

cats-kittens

come over some time & see me - 2011-02-25
let's not say goodbye - 2011-02-23
the Rachel Zoe collection - 2011-02-10
I feel happy today - 2011-02-04
the tiny snow stalker - 2011-01-25

design by simplify