he is NOT her boss!

2002-11-20

I'ma need to start vacuuming my sheets in the morning--the tattoo is really peeling. And itching. I am frequently drawn to feel it (not peel it, just finger the peeling skin.....gross); I don't know why. I'll be glad when it's done peeling, because it looks really nasty. This too shall pass.

This morning my office had a surprise belated birthday celebration for me. It was very low key (thankfully), and they got cake and ice cream for themselves and a yogurt parfait for me (my aversion to that cake is well known). Never had a yogurt parfait. I ate it for lunch (eschewing the power bar and apple I brought) and it was pretty good. I think I might want to make that at home sometime. My nudgey coworker horrified me again today, just as the "party" was breaking up. She said she'd dreamed she was going to get a tattoo and I was driving her to the tattoo studio, but then her parents called her cell phone and were upset about the tattoo and forbade her to get it. So then she had to call the tattoo off. And I said, jokingly, "You can still get the tattoo--your parents aren't the boss of you" (she's 30 years old!), and she agreed to that. But then she said her husband wouldn't like it, and he's the boss of her. I said, "He is NOT the boss of you!", and she said "Yes he is", and I said, "No he is NOT!", and she said, "Yes he is", and luckily right at that moment my second in command boss distracted me with a question. I just....that makes me crazy!! She's an intelligent adult--why has she appointed her husband to be her boss?! I can't keep thinking about this or my brain will implode.

Speaking of cell phones, I don't have one. Francisco doesn't have one. I think we might be the last two people on the Atlantic seaboard without them. But I don't want one. I don't want to be somewhere and have my purse start ringing. I don't really enjoy talking on the phone that much, in general. I like talking to my parents or sister or friends, but that's if I'm at home, preferably sprawled across my bed. I don't want to be in a restaurant or library or etc and feel compelled to talk on the phone, just because it's ringing. So I'm boycotting cell phones, at least for now. Happily.

When I got home last night I found out that Boy is in trouble. He has apparently not been doing some of his homework, and this has been going on for a few weeks. A couple of Boy's teachers emailed Francisco to let him know, and Francisco meted out punishment before I got home. I think it is just and fair. Boy has to make up the work, plus he is grounded for a week, and Francisco made him rake the front yard. Francisco also decreed that Boy had to confess the transgression to me that evening. So Francisco went to the range for the Tuesday night target shoot, and Boy did some studying and eyed me uneasily. Finally he worked up the courage to tell me what he had done. And he cried. I told him that I appreciate him telling me, and I told him he really needs to be doing all his homework from now on, and he said he would. I asked him why he hadn't been doing it, and he said, with such a plaintive note of self pity that I almost laughed, "Well, there was just so much of it, and it was really cutting into my social life." I had to compose myself for a minute, but I told him that his homework is the most important thing he's doing right now, and it's more important than his "social life". That's kind of a bunch of hooey anyway, since most nights after "finishing" his homework he's been playing video games or with toys--not with other kids. I also asked him what he thought was going to happen when he didn't do his homework, and he said he wasn't really thinking. He was still crying and I asked him why he was crying and he said he was just wishing he had done the homework. So I hugged him and told him he shouldn't cry anymore, but that he should definitely remember what the remorse feels like, in case he's ever tempted to blow off homework again. And it was all okay. I'm glad Francisco basically handled it all before I got home, because I would've been much more upset otherwise. Francisco is a good parent.

Officially? I miss Spirograph. I was just thinking about it the other day, and I think I'll try to find it on eBay. There are still new ones being made, but apparently they're not nearly as good. I want it because I loved it as a kid, but also I was thinking it would be fun to embroider spirograph-like images on things. Very Space Age!

Little else to report. Boy and I watched Buffy last night and that was about it. I have a meeting at 3, and I need to finish up some things before then.

Talk to you later.

Love,

E |

cats-kittens

come over some time & see me - 2011-02-25
let's not say goodbye - 2011-02-23
the Rachel Zoe collection - 2011-02-10
I feel happy today - 2011-02-04
the tiny snow stalker - 2011-01-25

design by simplify