Huh. You know, that's really not funny at all.

2003-03-05

The other day when I was waking up, something popped into my head (as things will when I'm partially asleep) and I don't know where it came from, but it amused me. It was, "Lubricant, or lubriWON'T?!", said in a sort of accusing tone. (see, it would help for clarity's sake to read 'lubricant' as 'lubrican't'. see.) Anyway, that's probably not nearly as funny as it was to me at the time; I woke up smirking. I love my brain--it frequently surprises me.

Someone got to this diary today through a google search for "freak pants". This pleases me.

I need to leave at 4:00 today, because Francisco is in a long meeting and we don't want Boy home alone for Too long. He's okay for an hour or so, but I get uneasy if he's home longer than that. Which is probably ridiculous, since I was not only home alone for a few hours at a time at age 10, but was also babysitting my younger siblings. I guess I'm a little too protective, but so what? At least I get to leave work early. I've gotten a lot done today, surprisingly, because after my little catching up frenzy of a week ago, I went back to not caring. I'm trying to care, though, because I have a lot I need to get done over the next few months, and it would be easier if I could muster a little motivation.

Last night we did the Buffy thing, and I also read a bit and got a migraine from the small glass of red wine I drank before dinner. I know I should just lay off the wine during the week, but it really helps distract my stomach when I get home and am ravenous and know that dinner will be awhile. I think that's the main reason I have anything alcoholic during the work-week, because seriously, if I tried to have some little appetizer instead of a glass of wine, it would turn into a cookie monster moment, with food flying everywhere. I get Really hungry during the afternoon, people--a small appetizer would not be enough. So it's either have the wine and risk the headache, or don't have it and have to wait out dinner with a ravening hunger. I have my priorities. Wine please.

My phone just rang and I picked it up and said, "Hi this is Eva, sh...can I help you?" What I almost said is, "should I help you?". I don't know why that would almost come out of my mouth. Freudian slip, anyone?

I'm going to take some work home and do it, and then make dinner and read and watch West Wing. I will also, surely, watch at least one Buffy rerun, and I feel sort of shamed by that, but I'm trying not to. Oh!! I almost forgot, but my yarn arrived today! Francisco called to tell me, because he knew I wanted the good news. So I can add 'knit a hat' to tonight's agenda, and also add that second Buffy rerun with No shame, since really I'm just knitting while the tv is on, ya know?. I'm excited all over again. I love that yarn--it's so chunky and nice to work with. Clearly I need to get out more.

It's warm today, like, in the mid 70's warm. Or approximately 24 celsius, which is the preferred number from now on, right? Hoo boy, it's a sweaty 24 right now. Anyway, this is the harbinger of all good things; namely, not freezing my ass off anymore for awhile. Also a harbinger that someday soon I'll be able to plant a fig tree and some flowers outside and not have them die. I do Love spring. I'm going to grow a few tomato plants in pots this year, which beats the shit out of planting them in the tiny plot we have that never gets enough sun and that is full of aggravating tree roots. I think I'm just going to seed that plot willy nilly with cutting flowers and see what happens. Worst case scenario, I'm out $5 for the seeds. Best case scenario, I have vasefuls of flowers ornamenting every room and making me look like the best little Martha Stewart ever. I'm going to chance it, and if it works out I'm going to write a book called, "Gardening for the Lazy and Plump", both of which I can write about in the first person.

So, yeah. I think I'm done for now, but I'll be back, my little cupcakes.

Love,

E

PS There is the most gorgeous bird on a tree outside right now. It has a blue back and wings, a white belly, and a red head. It's the most patriotic bird I've ever seen, and I think maybe it's some sort of woodpecker or sapsucker, because it seems mighty interested in that bark. |

cats-kittens

come over some time & see me - 2011-02-25
let's not say goodbye - 2011-02-23
the Rachel Zoe collection - 2011-02-10
I feel happy today - 2011-02-04
the tiny snow stalker - 2011-01-25

design by simplify