New Year, New Start, New Viruses

2003-01-05

I'm going to make this short-ish, because I don't have a long entry in me today, but HI! Nice to see you!

We all came back from our vacation sick, so I've been mainly laying around the past few days--didn't go to work Thursday and Friday like I was supposed to. Francisco and I have also been trying to reclaim our house from the unbelievable filth that overtook it while we were gone. Seriously, I can't imagine how it got so dirty with just the cats here. If I had known that was going to happen I would've maybe hired a maid service to come in the day before we were getting back. I've never had anyone else clean my house, but it would've been worth it not to have to deal with the filth while sick and very tired.

We took an overnight flight back on Tuesday night (we were in the Seattle airport at midnight on New Year's Eve--woo-hoo) and The Boy slept a decent number of hours, in the airport and on the two planes, but Francisco and I didn't. So we got home all tired and wrecked and were greeted by the filth and nastiness of our place and could only stare with glazed eyes. The cats were Sooooooo happy to see us, and that makes me feel extra bad for leaving them, because clearly we're their whole world. I missed them a LOT; it's so great to have them cuddling up and hogging the bed and kneading my all too kneadable post-holiday belly.

Since we've been back we've unpacked and cleaned and organized some things and bought groceries and a down comforter (there was a down comforter on the bed at my parents' and it was so cozy we got to wanting one) and an aerobic step and a yoga mat and a few other things. This morning Francisco and I did our Yoga for Dummies tape and it was suprisingly good! I'm starting to think I might like yoga after all, even though it hurts my wrists and forces me to realize Again how not flexible I am. Baby steps to pretzelhood.

Anyway, our trip was fun, even though we contracted several dueling viruses and had to deal with Boy's biological parents. My brother was easier than Boy's mom, but it was still somewhat uncomfortable at times. No biggie. I think next year we'll stay here, because someone said something to Francisco that we both thought was interesting and important. It was a nurse who said it when Francisco was at the doctor; she said that she and her husband stopped travelling at Christmas when they had kids, because they realized they wanted to have their own holiday traditions, and they wouldn't be able to do that if they were away from home, following someone else's traditions. Now that the adoption is finally underway for real, we need to be making our own holiday traditions, is what I think. And I'm looking forward to being home and doing that. We haven't decorated for Christmas for a few years, because what is the point when you're going to be gone for 2 weeks and have way too many other things to do before departing? None. No point.

I feel so uncreative right now. I think I'll continue tomorrow when I will hopefully have a better brain and no fever. I hope I get well soon, because I'm tired of this, and I'm going to do everything possible to achieve total wellness, including going to bed early. Which is hard for me.

Oh wait--New Years Resolutions:

I don't have too many. I want to improve my physical health (lose weight, gain strength and better aerobic fitness). I want to work on my mental health in a variety of ways, including the continued forgiving of myself and others, and the Letting Go of things [see also Catie]. I want to learn at least 2 practical skills, because I love that (that's the fun stuff), and make a few new friends.

But for now I'm going to go pee and start a Goodwill box. It's a beginning.

Love,

E |

cats-kittens

come over some time & see me - 2011-02-25
let's not say goodbye - 2011-02-23
the Rachel Zoe collection - 2011-02-10
I feel happy today - 2011-02-04
the tiny snow stalker - 2011-01-25

design by simplify