nasty boy picture

2002-02-28

Someone came to this diary by way of a Google search for "what is marabou?" This is a good question; does anyone know? I mean, I know What it is, but what it's made out of, I really couldn't tell you.

My good friend, Diana, sent me some urls for Robby Benson sites, and she sent me this picture, which I have to think could not possibly do him justice:

She also sent me to this site and specifically pointed me to this picture, which she calls the "best of the nasty boy pictures".

I just know my mother is horrified by that. Sorry mom. I'm a little horrified too, truth be told. Diana wins the prize, and as soon as I figure out what the prize is, it will be in the mail.

Earlier today my very religious coworker told me about an opportunity she and her husband have to take a vacation, but that it would cost them a lot of money (even though their airfare would be free). She came up with several reasons why she doesn't think it's a good idea to go, and she doesn't want to go. Her husband is pushing to go on the trip and I asked her if she had told him she didn't want to go. She said, "Yes, I told him, but ultimately it's his decision". I actually flinched when I heard that come out of her mouth, for real. Mentally I clutched my chest and staggered backwards like Fred Sanford faking a heart attack. Her husband is in law school and is not earning any money--she is the breadwinner--but because she subscribes to a religion that dictates her husband to be the boss of her, she has no say in how the money is spent. I was so outraged after this conversation that I vented to my online forum pals and one coworker who I knew would be just as appalled as I am. I mean, I realize that it's none of my business, but I think this whole bossy husband thing is the reason women have gotten the reputation for being manipulative. If your spouse has the ultimate say over everything that happens in your life, then how could you Not resort to being sneaky and underhanded? It would be the only way you could get what you wanted, short of begging. I'm much calmer now, after venting previously, but I'll tell you, I was so enraged my heart was racing.

This evening Francisco, Boy and I are going to an orientation meeting at the nearby middle school, because Boy will be attending there next year. I can't believe it! Middle school already? It's scary to think of him venturing into a place teeming with so many children who are larger than he. I wish he didn't have to go, in a way.

West Wing last night was Great. Anyone who hasn't watched it up until now (I'm looking at you, Diana) should start watching ASAP. It's not too late; you can still figure out what's going on. Don't miss another minute!

Right when West Wing was starting last night, Boy's dad called and he said it is okay with him if we adopt Boy. So now we have the go-ahead from both his parents, which is great, but now we have to figure out How to adopt him. We are his legal guardians but he is also a ward of the state of Oregon, so that complicates things. Any adoption lawyers reading this who might want to offer advice, out of gratitude for the Robby Benson pictures? Well it was worth a shot.

And people, people, Survivor 4 starts tonight! I hope that middle school meeting doesn't run long, because I don't want to miss a minute of the bitching and backstabbing. I hope this Survivor is interesting, and hopefully at least one of those jackasses did more than just read a book about making fire from scratch. You know what I'm saying? On all three of the other Survivors, several people had Read about making fire, but hadn't taken the time to go into their damn backyards and practice a little. So annoying.

In other news, last week I mentioned I bought a case for my sunglasses, but I foolishly neglected to say that it is bright red patent leather. It makes me happy every time I see it.

Gotta run--need to scarf dinner before le meeting.

Love to all,

E |

cats-kittens

come over some time & see me - 2011-02-25
let's not say goodbye - 2011-02-23
the Rachel Zoe collection - 2011-02-10
I feel happy today - 2011-02-04
the tiny snow stalker - 2011-01-25

design by simplify