your what?

2003-10-10

Last night Francisco was in bed while I was washing my face, brushing my teeth, etc. When I came to bed he was asleep but he spoke to me, and do you know what he said? He said, "....my purse...". I thought I heard him wrong, and asked, "Did you just say, 'my purse'?" He really woke up then and started laughing, and yes, he had said it. Apparently he was asleep and was dreaming but was also aware that I was in the room, and when he went to say something to me, his dream took over and he said something that fit into that. We've been married for almost 14 years, and I didn't know he carries a purse in his dreams. He kills me, he really does.

Also, I want to tell something Boy did about a week ago that I forgot to mention earlier. We were watching a movie and he was falling asleep, so we sent him upstairs to get ready for bed. He went up (after making his displeasure known--he always protests and says he's not tired) and after a few minutes we heard him make a noise of frustration. When asked what was wrong, he said, "My eyes are so dry!!" I said, "Are you trying to take your contact lenses out?" He said he was, at which point I had to inform him he wasn't Wearing his contact lenses. He was suitably sheepish. Later I asked him if he'd had to take his glasses off in order to "take his contact lenses out" and he said yes. Silly boy.

This morning in the parking lot I almost stepped on a baby snake (as is apparently my way). It was maybe a foot long and extremely skinny, and was sort of a tan with darker tan markings on the body and head. I have no idea what kind of snake it is, but it's not a baby copperhead, because it didn't have the bright yellow/green tail tip. I looked all over the interweb and couldn't find what it might be. Just to be safe, a coworker and I persuaded it off the asphalt with a long dried piece of kudzu vine, which took awhile because the snake clearly was enjoying where it was, but we didn't want it to get run over, and we also didn't want anyone to step on it and be bitten, in case it was a baby venomous something or other.

Yikes, a few minutes ago there was a mighty caterwauling downstairs when some of my coworkers were watching the Michael Peterson verdict on television and saw him declared guilty of murdering his wife. This is in no way connected to the CA Lacy Peterson thing--this is a homegrown Durham, North Carolina trial that I've heard a little about but haven't followed at all. The coworkers are extremely happy about his verdict; they are a vengeful lot. I think they're celebrating with ice cream.

I was even later to work today than usual because I had a minor clothing crisis; the only drawback to Fall, in my opinion. When I put on my only clean pair of pantihose, I found they had runs in them up to the knee. It's supposed to be about 73 degrees today, so wearing heavy tights was not up for consideration, and I don't have any pants [that fit] that were clean and also not capris. I wore the longest pair of capri pants I have--kind of like floods--but then was at a loss for shoes. Screw it, I'm wearing sandals. I know this must be a big Don't, since it's October now, but I don't care. One of the things I need to do this weekend is shop for pantihose and more shoes, and get rid of some of the tights I have squirreled away, because I know there are holey ones that I don't wear and they're taking up room. Plus those funky silver ones I bought 5 years ago can go to Goodwill, because I've only worn them once and doubt they'll be worn in the future. I love getting rid of things, and I've been on a roll lately, with the purging.

I joined up with a forum board yesterday that's all about France, because I'm on a Quest to find a recipe for chicken gizzard salad (if you've never had it, you can't know how yummy it is) and someone pointed me to a duck gizzard salad, so at least I'm one step closer. And I figure I could always substitute chicken gizzards if I wanted to use that recipe, but the salad I had contained dried fig bits and I sort of really want to find a recipe with those in it as well. The Quest continues. Those French forum people are really great--if anyone is interested in hopping aboard over there, let me know and I'll give you the url.

That's all for now. I've got an open faced turkey sandwich in the fridge, and it's not going to eat itself, people.

Love,

E |

cats-kittens

come over some time & see me - 2011-02-25
let's not say goodbye - 2011-02-23
the Rachel Zoe collection - 2011-02-10
I feel happy today - 2011-02-04
the tiny snow stalker - 2011-01-25

design by simplify