heard of them, haven't heard of them--what's the difference?

2002-08-28

I've had it with music, or rather, I've had it with people who think that being deeply passionate about obscure music makes them more interesting. I will say right now that I'm not talking about any of the people whose diaries I read; I am just talking in general. None of the people whose diaries I read are like that, because if they were I wouldn't read them. I like music, quite a bit, but I could care less about ferreting out new or little-known bands. I have other things to do. Just because not many people have heard of a musical artist doesn't mean they're better than musical artists people Have heard of. Bad sentence, but I mean, really; if you think like that then you deserve to be bitch-slapped by Socrates for bad logic. There are bands I have heard about as being So Good, and people rave about them and act superior to other people who haven't heard of them, and when I hear these bands I am astonished at their mediocrity. I won't name any names, but there's this one group--yikes! All their songs sound exactly the same, and they are So depressing. I'm not a teenager. I don't need to sit around listening to music that will depress me, because there's enough automatically depressing stuff in actual life. Which is not to say I only listen to music that is upbeat, because I don't. I like a variety, thankyouverymuch. I will be happy to listen to obscure bands if I actually like their music, but I won't listen to them so that I can name-drop and act superior. I'm 34.

-------------------------------------------------------------

Dear Obscure Bands,

Call off your minions before they get hurt.

Sincerely,

Tattoobelly

-------------------------------------------------------------

The left side of my throat is sore today; I think it's allergies, though it might be a cold. Last night, not too long after I went to sleep, I dreamt I was swallowing 2 marbles and I woke up in a panic and was coughing hard to try and dislodge them. I woke up Francisco, the poor guy. He was all worried, asking what was wrong, and I didn't know how to answer him. I thought about it and realized I had dreamed the marbles, so I told him it was nothing, that I am an idiot, and he should go back to sleep. He did, and he didn't remember the incident this morning except vaguely when I asked him about it. I always have these swallowing-of-inappropriate-objects dreams when the mold spore count gets high--they must be allergy related. Sucks.

This morning we got up and went for a walk in our neighborhood. We saw a dog and his man, and we've seen them before. The dog is So cute. He's a cross between a Husky and an Australian sheepdog? We know this because we talked to his man this morning. The dog has a beautiful fan-type tail and huge pointed ears. He looks very alert. I petted him and he jumped up and bumped my chin with his nose. His man says that's part of his herding instinct, because herding dogs use their noses to nudge the sheep along. It's fun to watch this dog, and really dogs in general. Their lives seem to be one tragic love affair after another (with other dogs, with people, with tennis balls, etc). They see another dog and they're all like, "Who are you? I love you, I love you! Wait! Come back! Don't go! Shoot. Hey is that urine I smell? Wow I love that smell! I love it, I love it! No, don't drag me away! I'm smelling the urine...Wait! Shoot." Dogs are an inspiration; they suffer disappointment a hundred times a day but still they keep on going.

I also petted a very friendly, very vocal young cat this morning. We were walking past his yard and he made the first move--meowing and walking toward me. He meowed all the way over to me and meowed for awhile while I petted him and then he was silent, enjoying the love. When I stood up to leave, he started the meowing again. He was grey and white, with funny markings. I like when cats have a mark that looks like a moustache. It is too, too charming.

This entry has been getting written in bits and pieces this morning--I started it about 3 hours ago. Over the course of those 3 hours my sore throat has been getting more sore. I have lots of work to do and I don't want to do it, but I just made a deal with myself that if I make a big push and get the work done, I can call in sick tomorrow. This is enough incentive, so I will say goodbye now and work work work.

Love,

E |

cats-kittens

come over some time & see me - 2011-02-25
let's not say goodbye - 2011-02-23
the Rachel Zoe collection - 2011-02-10
I feel happy today - 2011-02-04
the tiny snow stalker - 2011-01-25

design by simplify