far more good news than bad

2008-03-03

When I got home on Friday night [happy--filled with the sense of well-being provided by two cosmopolitans, consumed with friends, at Happy Hour prices] I found our previously squashed garbage can upright on the sidewalk, with a note apologizing and saying they took our garbage to the dump and also that they will buy us a new can if we'd like. The can was unharmed (two thumbs up, Rubbermaid) so as far as I'm concerned, this problem is Solved. And really, I got a lot of mileage out of the "our neighbors parked on our garbage can" story last Friday, so at this point I am pleased that it happened in the first place.

Good News: My super secret soccer boyfriend, Sami Hyypia, signed a new contract that will keep him at Liverpool through the end of the 2008-09 season. Hurray! This makes me v. happy.

More Good News: Miles is posting poetry he wrote. I love your poetry, Miles, and I want everyone to read it.

Additional Good News: I went to the Mexican tienda on Saturday and got a few items, including another saint bracelet [this one has a cross hanging from it, which I am calling a lowercase t because it makes me think of Arrested Development and that makes me happy], and a Chivas Guadalajara bracelet for Francisco (the Chivas are his Liga Mexicana team). What I like about his bracelet is that it looks just like a saint bracelet, but with soccer player pictures instead of the saints. Perfect. If they'd had a Toluca bracelet I'd have bought that for myself, but they only had the Chivas and Club America. Bad News: They were out of Ate de Membrillo (quince paste), which I love, so I will continue to struggle along without it.

On Saturday afternoon I made a string of paper flags with the kit Miss Catie sent me and that was fun, plus I love the way it looks hanging in my kitchen. The paper is so pretty--I need to take a picture so you can see.

I guess that's probably all I have to tell you today--the weekend was pretty low key and I spent a lot of time cleaning and a lot of time on the internet. I also spent time being used as a bed by Lucy, who sat on me nearly constantly when I was in her favorite leather chair. It's her new thing.

Love,
E

|

cats-kittens

come over some time & see me - 2011-02-25
let's not say goodbye - 2011-02-23
the Rachel Zoe collection - 2011-02-10
I feel happy today - 2011-02-04
the tiny snow stalker - 2011-01-25

design by simplify