it may be long, but it's not very exciting

2002-07-28

This is long: You have been warned.

I forgot to mention this previously, but last weekend I saw people on television talking about a new product, and it was so crazy I was tempted to order it. The product? Rubber erect nipples. Like, fake rubber nipples that are fake erect and women can put them in their bras for that perpetual sexually excited look. True story. Can you imagine wearing those around? Please.

Stay tuned for Google hits due to the above paragraph.

So we drove out east on Friday morning and we stayed the night in a touristy town called Chimney Rock. It was a nice area, in the mountains and all, but we didn't realize how infested with tourists it would be. Scads of shops all selling that hideous tourist merchandise--the ugly t-shirts, the carved wooden animals, the tiny plastic Pocahontases with their tiny buckskin clothing. Solid proof that people will buy anything. There was one atypical store in town--sort of a headshop really--where we found the Boy a necklace we knew he'd like, and a new earring for Francisco; a black 14 gauge captive bead ring. At this shop I was once again pimped out of the skull ring of my dreams. The owner said she'd had them but they were sold out; I will keep looking. I don't know why I so badly want a silver skull ring, but I do.

Basically what we did in Chimney Rock was have lunch--Carolina barbecue, which is good--and walk around a little and get overheated. We then holed up in the hotel room until 8:00, which is when our dinner reservation was. The restaurant was in our hotel and it served upscale southern food. I had trout with bacon and okra and some other stuff I can't remember, served on a bed of grits that had something in them to make them taste good. Kind of lemony. Francisco had salmon on a bed of wilted spinach. We got fried green tomatoes for our appetizer, and we brought a bottle of wine because the restaurant didn't serve alcohol but people could bring their own. Got a little boozy but in a good way.

That hotel bed made me feel I am getting old. I used to be able to sleep on anything, but this bed was not only extremely hard, but also had a trough in the middle that I had to concentrate on not rolling into. I woke up feeling like 5 miles of bad road, but after a shower and some breakfast, I felt good as new again. It only took about 45 minutes from there to get to Boy's camp.

He was waiting for us when we arrived, and it was good to see him not only alive, but tanned and healthy and happy. He had a great time at camp and he made a friend named Carter who was a very well-mannered 10 year old. Introduced himself and stuck his hand out for shaking--I practically keeled over in shock. Naturally they did not exchange addresses; such is the way of children. But Boy wants to go back next summer and Carter will be there, so they can be summer friends.

After leaving camp we went up to Asheville (a great college town; I would love to live there) and got some lunch. There was a street fair going on and parking was difficult and there was chaos, but we managed. Ate good Asian food and waddled back to the car. Boy fell asleep immediately and slept about 2 hours. The singing he did on the way out to camp, 4 weeks prior? Not so much of that. Note to self: Make sure Boy is sleep-deprived before future trips of more than one hour.

A great thing that transpired on the way home was we enticed the Boy with PlayStation 2 as a substitute for the guinea pigs he had asked for for his birthday. He leaped at the idea because apparently he'd had second thoughts about the g. pigs. Thank god. The PlayStation 2 was purchased this morning so the deal is done. And since it will play DVDs I not only bought Amelie on DVD at the Wal Mart this afternoon, but I am all ready for the West Wing to be released on DVD. Do you hear me, Aaron Sorkin and NBC? I am waiting. [crosses arms and looks resolute]

I, in fact, purchased a few too many things at the old Wal Mart today. Among said purchases are 5 more pairs of thong panties [okay, You try to resist 100% cotton thongs for $1.50. Go ahead, let's see you do it. Smartass.], a hoochie mama shirt (for sleeping), a tank top and panty set that says something amusing in rhinestones that I can't remember right now (also for sleeping), some exercise clothes, and various other things that really aren't important. My point is, I went there for some contact lens solution, a toothbrush for Boy, some drawer containers for our utensils, floss, and a drainy-saucer thing for the big orchid that we left outside to die but it just won't. And I left $100+ poorer. Solid proof people will buy anything.

Much of today has been spent reclaiming the house from the filth that has threatened to overcome it. Everything Boy took to camp needed washing, which is now done, and sheets are changed and the carpet has been vacuumed and the cat barf spots have been shampooed away (thank you Little Green Machine!}. The kitchen and bathroom floors have been Swiffered and the place is pretty tolerable again. I will clean the bathrooms and dust the furniture and voila! The house will be lovely, for a few days anyway.

Yesterday Francisco rented The Godfather and we watched it last night. I had never seen it, and it was Great. Today when they went out to get the Playstation they rented The Godfather 2; we will watch it tonight.

This is my story and I am sticking with it. How was Your weekend? Go say hi to my sister. It's her birthday today,and I know she'd love to hear from you.

Love,

E |

cats-kittens

come over some time & see me - 2011-02-25
let's not say goodbye - 2011-02-23
the Rachel Zoe collection - 2011-02-10
I feel happy today - 2011-02-04
the tiny snow stalker - 2011-01-25

design by simplify