lightning bolts are threatening

2002-07-22

Pretty good weekend, this. Saturday was mostly spent with our friends Chris and Abra; they made us breakfast (Eggs Benedict except with avocados instead of ham) and we went to a movie with them that afternoon. The movie is Monsoon Wedding, an Indian film that was really good--I recommend. Chris and Abra are the kind of friends you can see once a year and it's still totally comfortable, so it was a fun time. You've gotta love friends like that.

I'm extremely hungry right now so my mind isn't working very well. My boy coworker has a bat sleeping between his window and the screen. The screen is pushed down about 6 inches and the bat is clinging onto the top of the screen, upside down, and let me tell you: that bat is adorable. I hope he decides to live at that window forever. I'm going to call him Cubby.

Yesterday we went to the shooting range and then to the Whole Foods market where we bought delicious cheese, produce, bread, fake meat, coffee, and a basil plant. I love the Whole Foods, even though it's corporate. Computer Scott frequently makes a pitch for the local co-op market, but the co-op has such a limited selection whereas the Whole Foods has everything. So clearly the Whole Foods has to win, corporate greed notwithstanding.

Very tired today, because I had a lot of trouble falling asleep last night. I think it's because I stayed up so late the previous 3 nights; the body got used to it. We watched a bad Dirty Harry movie last night, featuring Liam Nisen (sp?) sporting a very unfortunate ponytail. We didn't know it would be that bad when we started watching it; after we figured that out, we were only half watching it. Oy, bad movies. Afterwards it took me until close to midnight to fall asleep and I got up at 5:45 this morning for exercise. I figured it would help me sleep tonight, so it better.

I'm the boss at work right now because the Boss, the Second Boss, and the third in line are all at a conference. I'm the fourth in line, just so you know, and it's fairly meaningless. It's rare that anything happens when I'm in charge that needs to be taken care of.

It just started thundering heavily--I think I'll go home now and try to avoid being struck by lightning. I'm sort of afraid of that. I'm also afraid of bears and beetles. You?

Love,

E |

cats-kittens

come over some time & see me - 2011-02-25
let's not say goodbye - 2011-02-23
the Rachel Zoe collection - 2011-02-10
I feel happy today - 2011-02-04
the tiny snow stalker - 2011-01-25

design by simplify