my left hand is in danger

2002-08-05

I had a great weekend, Friday's movie confusion notwithstanding. Thursday night we saw Goldmember, and it was funny, though a little frantically-paced. One of my favorite things in it was the Goldmember character, because he's Dutch. And really, how many Dutch characters are written into American movies? None, that's how many. Part two of why this is funny to me is that Michael Cain's character Hates the Dutch, and people: Who hates the Dutch? No one hates the Dutch! What's to hate? They're like the nicest people Ever.

Friday after I took Boy and Tony to the movie (that Master of Disguise piece of offal) I went grocery shopping and took the groceries home and ate a quick lunch and then picked the boys up from the movie. Boy seemed skeptical, but Tony enjoyed the movie a lot. Boy was invited to spend the night at Tony's, so he did, and Francisco and I had an evening in. We watched American Beauty (we own it) and I made risotto, and it was really good. Risotto is like a miracle food, really, because it tastes so creamy and fattening, but there's not really that much fat in it. It's just a whole lot of delicious + a whole lot of stirring. Saturday morning Francisco got up early and had to go to a meeting, so I had the house to myself. I was lazy, mainly, but I did laundry and changed the sheets and walked on the treadmill. Boy went swimming with Tony and got dropped off around 6:00 pm. I made dinner again--I made a spicy peanut noodle thing, plus salad. I think I like cooking again, it's fun.

Yesterday we did a little shopping--bought Boy a backpack for school and got a couple of baby gifts. One gift is for our niece, so it's not so much a gift as just something we do as her aunt and uncle--we buy her adorable things to wear, for no reason. Pink tank top and red shorts. She is starting to stand up, clinging to things, and is just the cutest baby ever. I will picture her wearing the clothes while teetering around, clinging to furniture. The other gift is for our friends in Utah who just recently had a baby boy. Francisco had bought a gift for them but I pointed out that he bought a fleece sleeper, size 0-3 months. Fleece. Utah. 0-3 months. The women see what I'm talking about--the men, probably not so much. It was a very cute sleeper, but it had to go back for something more weather-appropriate. Plus a hat. New babies must always get a hat from me; it's just my way.

Last night I dreamt I was at a dinner party in a suburban neighborhood and people ran to the windows to watch a lion chasing a horse through the neighborhood. People went out on the deck and I was saying, "Um, maybe you should watch from the windows...", because I was thinking that the lion might not catch the horse and might turn to the puny humans for sustenance. The lion ended up catching the horse (it was a horrifying scene), and then I was in the yard of the house and a Rottweiler attacked me. He bit my left hand and was pulling at me and I was screaming. About a week ago I dreamt that I was attacked by Rottweilers--they were biting my left hand and I was trying not to scream. If I get my left hand ripped off by dogs, don't be surprised.

Watched Amelie again this weekend (Love it), washed the fabric for our quilt, and decided what the quilt will look like. So now I have to actually cut it out and sew it together. This is the not-so-easy part, but what else do I have to do, right?

I'm sure I had other things to say, but I can't remember them now. Maybe later.

Love,

E

PS I'm going to look for another job. This one is killing me. |

cats-kittens

come over some time & see me - 2011-02-25
let's not say goodbye - 2011-02-23
the Rachel Zoe collection - 2011-02-10
I feel happy today - 2011-02-04
the tiny snow stalker - 2011-01-25

design by simplify