Have to take a calculator into the bathroom now

2004-08-26

Last week Francisco was messing around with our electronic scale and he doesn't know exactly what buttons he pushed, but the scale is now set to weigh us in stones. I just thought I should let you know.

I've been meaning to tell y'all about the spider living under our KitchenAid. It's no big deal, really--it's a small spider and he's hopefully eating the little ants that've been infesting our kitchen. We don't bother him and he doesn't bother us, and it's kind of nice having him there. Hopefully he is not a she and eggs will not be laid, because I don't think a whole spider family could survive under the KitchenAid and I'd rather not have spiders living all over the house.

Today I got to work only 15 minutes late, thanks to ride-sharing with Francisco. We needed to leave a lot earlier than my usual 8:15-8:30, and he's picking me up at 5:30, so I actually got to take a lunch hour today. What I did was go for a walk through the campus garden and onto campus. I brought the camera and took a few pictures, but nothing spectacular. The walk was pleasant for the first 15 minutes but then I realized it was pretty hot, and I got very sweaty and it wasn't so pleasant anymore. When I was heading back to the office, I was walking behind a girl for awhile who was one of those pretty co-ed types, in a short skirt and flip flops. It occurred to me that my presence was making her look even better--taller, tanner, blonder, skinnier--and I thought I really deserved a tip. Alas, she didn't see it that way. After she turned off on her way, I saw three men I wanted to take a picture of, but I didn't want them to see me taking their picture. Fortunately our camera is such that the lens can be turned to the back so I was able to take their picture without them knowing. I don't think it turned out, but with some cropping, it might be interesting. Doubtful.

I got email from my doctor today to inform me that I'm not allergic to gluten, but as Jen mentioned in my guestbook, that may not be the same as being sensitive to it. Here's what I don't get (and this is gonna get a little personal, kids): Why is it that if I eat something very bready, like pizza, the next morning I will have [ahem] intestinal distress? And god forbid I should have beer with that. Last night I ate some gluten in the form of a hamburger bun and some croutons, and 40 minutes later I couldn't breathe through my nose (another problem I've been having that I understand can be related to a food allergy). I mean, if I'm not allergic, that's fine, because avoiding gluten is NOT EASY, but it would be nice to know what is causing this nose stuffiness and intestinal distress problem.

Joyce! I'm going to need a carrot cake and some cinnamon rolls.

Does anyone know if Summer At Shatter Creek's song 'My Neighbor is Having a Seizure' was used for a commercial or something at some point? Because I know I had heard it before I downloaded it from 3hive, but I don't know where I heard it. Anyone?

I haven't worked very much this afternoon. I was on a roll this morning, but after my sweaty walk at lunch I totally lost all desire to work.

A shout-out to Elle-78 (it's like MEOW 67!), who wrote me a very nice email and who has a diary y'all should check out. She's best friends with Kimmy,and any friend of Kimmy's is a friend of mine.

And speaking of Kimmy, I'm waiting (patiently, I think) for her to talk about her first job, at a drugstore. Specifically her yogurt-machine related duties. That is all.

Love,

E |

cats-kittens

come over some time & see me - 2011-02-25
let's not say goodbye - 2011-02-23
the Rachel Zoe collection - 2011-02-10
I feel happy today - 2011-02-04
the tiny snow stalker - 2011-01-25

design by simplify