coloring inside the lines

2003-01-18

I left the house yesterday in black and white and returned in glorious technicolor. And in pain (duh). I had done a lot of things to get ready for the aftermath (healing) of being tattooed, so in a sense I was ready, but when I got to the tattoo place I realized I really wasn't in the mood. But I'd been planning for over a month on getting it finished yesterday, and it was the best time, since I get Monday off, so I had to get it done, mood or no mood. That made it harder, I think. For the first 10 minutes I was fairly writhey, and then I sobbed silently into the towel I'd brought to use as a pillow and got more stoic. It took 2 hours, and I'd asked Glenn to let me know when we were 80% done. I kept waiting for him to say it, and waiting, and finally he said it. And I was glad but I was also sorry that I had 20% more to go. He wiped my back for kind of a long time after his 80% announcement, and then he said, "Now we're all done." He tricked me, and let me tell you, I couldn't have been gladder. It's been a very long time since I'd experienced that much joy and euphoria. I was SO. HAPPY! I just wanted to lay on that table for an hour, basking in the glow of being finished.

After he tricked me, Glenn took some pictures and then gooped my back and put the clingfilm bandage on it. I put my jacket on, paid, and was on my way. I felt pretty good, even though the coloring in had hurt worse than the outlining. I went home and had dinner and watched some of a movie before going to bed at about 10:30. Somewhere in there Francisco took my bandage off and I showered to wash the tattoo, and then lotioned it. Today I'm walking upright (it's taking a bit of an effort, but last time I was walking hunched over and ended up straining my lower back muscles) and feeling better than expected. So things are good! I wish I had more to report right now, but getting the color put in is really all I've done since yesterday. Francisco is making beer, even as I type, but I am just schlepping around in low-riding pajama bottoms and an oversized shirt. I feel Real attractive, let me tell you.

The tattoo itself? Turned out Great. I'll post a picture once it's healed up and ready to be seen. Glenn wants me to come back in a month so he can see it healed and take another photo. He is really good at what he does; I could not recommend him highly enough. I asked him if he'd ever been interviewed for a tattoo magazine and he said no. I asked him if he'd be amenable to an interview and he said yes, if it was for a good magazine. My favorite is International Tattoo, and when I asked him his favorite, he said the same. I asked him if I contacted International Tattoo to see if they take articles from non-magazine employees and they said yes, if he'd be interested in letting me interview him, and he said he would be. So my big plan is to email IT and talk them into letting me do it, because I would really like that, and Glenn deserves the attention. He is an interesting tattoo artist because he is not only good at tattooing, but he also paints and does photography. I don't think most tattoo artists do art outside of tattooing, though many do, and International Tattoo does a lot of articles about those kinds of multitalented people. I'll let you know if my plan works out. Even if they say I can't do the interview/article, I would still hope Someone would interview Glenn; he deserves the acclaim.

I'm rambling, and it's time for a dose of ibuprofen.

Love!

E |

cats-kittens

come over some time & see me - 2011-02-25
let's not say goodbye - 2011-02-23
the Rachel Zoe collection - 2011-02-10
I feel happy today - 2011-02-04
the tiny snow stalker - 2011-01-25

design by simplify