I'm in dutch

2002-09-10

Back at work today, and feeling a bit better. I haven't been sleeping well, so the first hour of the day was torture but I'm doing reasonably well now and have my voice back, mostly. It comes and it goes, and when it's on, it's a funny voice. I won't go into any details here, but I have reason to believe that, on top of this flu, I have a bacterial thing going on as well, so I guess I'll try to see a doctor again this week. I'll go if I can get an appointment at a different office, because I'm not going back to the bad office. They think I"m crazy there, for sure. I bet there are all kinds of notes in my file, after I yelled at Jon the triage nurse last week.

I will now confess something embarrassing: [ahem] A couple/three months ago I entered an internet VH1 contest to win a backyard concert from the RHCP. What was I Thinking?! Thank god I didn't win, because I had no idea what a hideous thing it would be until last weekend when I saw the winner and the concert on VH1. The concert itself was good--the Peppers played well--but the whole thing was just so Made For TV, and all the "friends" looked like models, and I can't imagine having this spectacle in my backyard. For one thing, I don't have 50 friends, let alone 50 very photogenic friends. For another thing, I would've been cringing the whole time and wishing it was over, rather than be filmed dancing and cavorting with the 50 beautiful people VH1 would've had to hire to be my friends. And everyone would've come down with the West Nile afterwards, given the mosquitoey nature of my backyard. So basically the Universe was watching out for me and my stupid ass when I did not win that contest, and I am truly grateful. I will never enter a contest like that again, this I promise you.

So, while I was actively sick, I read some books, and two of them were books about The Netherlands. What a great country--I think I want to move there someday. I think maybe, even though I come from an English/German/French ancestral group, that I'm actually mentally Dutch. Is this possible? Anyway, I'm fascinated by the Dutch; I want to know everything about them. I was doing some internet research this morning and there was a recent Nederland study about the eating habits of the Dutch that you can't read on the web; you have to write to this group in the Netherlands and request a hard copy. And to give you an idea of just how obsessed I am, I seriously considered writing to them, to the point of mentally composing the first part of my letter. I decided not to write for the study, but I bookmarked the site just in case I change my mind.

Also, I bought some Gouda this weekend, and it is delicious. I have gotten Boy hooked on it too--slowly I will convince him that The Netherlands are our true spiritual home.

You know, maybe I just need to get out more.

But can I just say one more thing? Rap is like a million times better when it's in Dutch. Seriously.

Love,

E |

cats-kittens

come over some time & see me - 2011-02-25
let's not say goodbye - 2011-02-23
the Rachel Zoe collection - 2011-02-10
I feel happy today - 2011-02-04
the tiny snow stalker - 2011-01-25

design by simplify