trying

2010-06-02

I don't know why my brain so loves a hypothetical situation, but it does. This morning I was thinking about how busy Francisco was as the police last Friday night, and how more or less all the calls he went to involved alcohol in some way. I was thinking that society would be so much better off without the invention of alcohol, but then I remembered the history of alcohol (I read Alcoholica Esoterica -- a great book) and without alcohol human history would be so vastly different that I can't even imagine where we'd be. For one thing, alcohol made long ocean voyages possible, because water couldn't be stored for more than a few days in wooden barrels before it became undrinkable. Without ale, people would never have crossed the ocean, at least until they invented some [other] way to preserve water. And that's just one way in which alcohol has affected our history; there are loads more. To sum up, Alcohol: The cause of, and solution to, all of life's problems.

The weather is vexing me lately. Rain rain rain, which is good for the garden, but it's also been chilly which is not good for the garden (most things would prefer heat, especially the peppers, which STILL look like they're going to die because they are ASSholes) OR for my desire to wear my new cute skirts and sandals. Come ON, spring! I'm tired of these pants.

By the time I got home last night, Esther's water had migrated from her back to her front legs, giving her lunch lady arms; it was adorable. And by the time I got up this morning her body had absorbed the water, so now she's back to normal until tomorrow morning when she gets Grizzly Hump 2; Hydration Redux. If I have time, I'll take a picture so you can see. She seems to be feeling better and I'm so glad; when Kitty's happy, I'm happy.

I've been working on a top secret knitting project lately. At first it was not a knitting project at all but part of it turned into knitting and then the other part did too. I don't really want to tell you what it is, because I've searched the internet and don't see that anyone else has made them, and hey, maybe I will want to sell these at some point, so I don't want anyone to steal my idea. Sorry: I know it's annoying to say stuff like that, and maybe I shouldn't have mentioned it at all. I've enjoyed the evolution of the project, though; especially the most recent evolution that involves empty .357 casings. Necessity met the mother of invention, who in turn met the man with a garage full of reloading equipment, and they fell in love.

I'm all signed up for Summer Burn 2010, so I will be working on cds soon. I have a Flickr contact who does Summer Burn and every year I hope I'll get his name for the exchange, but so far I haven't. It's probably for the best, though, because he's so super cool and interesting I'd probably end up panicking that my cd wasn't good enough or whatever. Still, maybe this year I'll get him for the exchange! If that happens, I will probably ask you for music suggestions, so be ready.

Last thing: Several months ago I was thinking about how much time I spend at work, and I had a sort of vague and unfocused idea that I've been calling "work beautiful". What it means is trying to make every aspect of work and working beautiful and/or artful, and honestly I haven't had great success, because I get frazzled and haven't made enough of an effort, but I think I'd like to give it another shot. I should probably start with cleaning my office, because it's gotten all dusty and cobwebby again, and should bring in a couple more lamps (the fluorescent overhead lighting is NOT beautiful). That would be a start, at least, and if I follow through with it I'll let you know.

Love,
E

|

cats-kittens

come over some time & see me - 2011-02-25
let's not say goodbye - 2011-02-23
the Rachel Zoe collection - 2011-02-10
I feel happy today - 2011-02-04
the tiny snow stalker - 2011-01-25

design by simplify