is she talking about a hernia?

2002-03-13

Okay, I've taken a good hard look at my current workload, and the problem is, no mortal woman can get all this work done by the time it needs to be done. This morning I have been working on files and I now have more than I started with. I will do a file and be given another one or two, do a file, get a file, etc etc. I am at maximum file density. I've had all I can stands and I can't stands no more. I have to be out of the office on Monday, I figured out, because our return flight from Seattle will not land at RDU until about 6 in the morning on Monday, and there is no way I'm coming to work on zero sleep. I was thinking we were arriving at 10:45 on Sunday night, but it turns out that's when we're taking off from Seattle. The old red eye.

This has been leading up to something, just so you know. I'm having to be practical, and in the interest of practicality and getting my job done, I'm going to have to take a short hiatus from my diary and from the internet in general. My hiatus will last until next week, when I've had a chance to catch up at work and when life in has settled back down. I will miss my diary and will miss the diaries of others even more, but it can't be helped. If my work is magically done by elves before the end of this week, then I will be able to prematurely end my hiatus, but I'm not counting on it.

I found out yesterday that the naked 5k has been cancelled! I got an email from the woman (race coordinator) I wanted to interview for my article. She was very brief and just said it was cancelled and that I would need to contact the nudist ranch directly if I wanted to get permission to publish my article. I don't think I want to write it now because 1) there is little point, since the race no longer exists and 2) the article would not be nearly as good without getting the background from the race coordinator and other information like that. And damn, I am disappointed! Not So much about the article, because I have other prospects, but about the race itself. I was really looking forward to running it. There are lots and lots of naked 5Ks in the good old U.S. of A, but most of them are in Texas, and that's a bit far to drive. I wonder what the story is on the cancellation--I have the feeling there's muck to be raked, but I don't have the time or inclination to rake it.

I have renamed the weightlifting guy group at the gym. No longer shall they be known as the Testosteronies; they are now the Boomhauers. This is because I realized one day, as I was lifting weights near them, that I couldn't understand one freaking word they were saying. They all have that southern mushmouth thing going on. Also, there are a couple pretty good recently invented nicknames to report for Boomhauer members: 1) Knox (as in Knox Unflavored Gelatin), because the guy in question is so average as to be virtually indescribable. Francisco came up with that one and I really like it. 2) Whitesnake; the scary guy with neck tattoos. He wasn't there this morning but Knox and the others were. Crowded as usual.

Getting up this morning wasn't easy. I awoke to my alarm at 5:00 and lay there in a stupor for a minute. I tried to cheer myself up by telling myself I could sleep in until 6:00 tomorrow, but then I remembered I couldn't because I have to drop Boy off at his school (for the D.C. field trip) by 5:30. I lay there thinking, "Thursday I can't sleep in. Friday I can't sleep in. Saturday I can't sleep in. Sunday! Sunday I can sleep in for a little while at least." It was enough.

People, there is a scam going on right now that is the Shame of North Carolina. At first I didn't really notice it, but because I have done so much driving recently (taking Francisco to and from the airport, taking Boy to and from track practice), it has become glaringly obvious. Here it is: Just about every mile on one particularly freeway is a "work zone". There are signs up that say Work Zone, 55 mph, $250 penalty. There is nothing to indicate how long the zone lasts and there are no signs saying "End Work Zone". There is also no work going on; no highway construction workers, no machinery--nothing. I have noticed this to a lesser extent on two other nearby freeways. Could it be a coincidence that these work zones appeared less than 2 weeks after our governor announced a budget deficit and corresponding budget cuts? I think not. Bastards.

I'm feeling pretty sad today about Francisco's dad, to the point that I can't really talk about him to anyone for fear of weeping. Not much is new to talk about; Francisco and his sister have gotten a lot of things done already, and have meetings planned with various people to clear up various things later this week. They are doing what they can do. Francisco will have to go back out there, probably, during the Spring break week at the college where he teaches. They need to meet with a lawyer about their dad's investments, and they've been unable to make an appointment this week. Because there was no will, there is some legal process that must be followed in order to get the investments transferred to Francisco and his sis. I have no idea what has to happen and neither does Francisco; hence the lawyer. It's all very complicated and I am now a fan of wills in a way I've never been before. We are totally going to write one before too much longer. ANYway, I talked to Francisco twice yesterday, which was comforting, and he sounds okay. He is enjoying his niece a lot--I heard her "talking" to him in the background--and he and his sister are getting along well. Not that they don't usually get along, because they do, but what I guess I mean is that they are sort of�pulling together, or something. Which is really great, because when they were younger they wouldn't have been able to do this teamwork thing so easily. If nothing else good comes out of their father's death (and really, what other good Could come out of it?), at least Francisco and his sister will feel that they can depend on each other when bad things happen.

I'm getting verklempt. Time to go.

But first I need to apologize to those to whom I owe email--I Will write you back; I just need work to be less horrible first. Also, thank you So Much to those of you who guestbooked and emailed me yesterday and today. Your kind words have been encouraging and are greatly appreciated. I love you, man. You kids are the Best.

Time to go for real. I hope you all have a great week and weekend, and I'll talk to you next week.

Love,

E

|

cats-kittens

come over some time & see me - 2011-02-25
let's not say goodbye - 2011-02-23
the Rachel Zoe collection - 2011-02-10
I feel happy today - 2011-02-04
the tiny snow stalker - 2011-01-25

design by simplify