the hand is quicker than the eye

2002-11-22

Today I have suffered our office's annual Thanksgiving Lunch. I always think, ahead of time, that it'll be fun, and then I remember too late why I hated it last year. There's always too much food and people doing self-important bustling, and this year there was a fresh irritant in the form of my nudgey coworker asking me numerous questions about how to heat up a can of baked beans. I shit you not. These are my beloved Bush's baked beans, barbecue flavor, which is the whole reason she bought them; because I raved about their goodness. So now I am apparently the expert on heating up baked beans, because she kept asking me how she should heat them up. Should she use a pan or microwave them? If she microwaves them, how long will they take? Or what about if she heats them on the stove--how long then? Is it just me, or is this utterly ridiculous? How hard is it to heat a can of beans?? So there was that, and also I made biscuits and then needed to cook them, which was difficult because they needed to bake at 450 degrees, and nothing else had to bake at that temperature. Also, something had spilled in the oven, so when I turned the oven up to 450, clouds of smoke began billowing out and I was sure it would set off the fire alarm. This would have caused the fire department to show up, and while that would've been exciting, it would've been a little too much trouble.

So that's mainly what's been going on today. I've also been catching up emails and appeals and etc, and I'm all caught up now. I have to leave at 4 today, since Francisco is in Toronto now and won't be there to be with Boy. I'll miss him like crazy, but it's only until Tuesday. I can hang on until then. I'm going out tonight to buy some pots and potting soil and bulbs and pansies; I'm in the mood for a little outdoor beautification. The yard itself looks horrible--we need to do a lot of cleanup--so maybe I can distract people with lovely potted plants. Pick a card, any card.

Gotta run off now--have a great weekend!

Love,

E |

cats-kittens

come over some time & see me - 2011-02-25
let's not say goodbye - 2011-02-23
the Rachel Zoe collection - 2011-02-10
I feel happy today - 2011-02-04
the tiny snow stalker - 2011-01-25

design by simplify