in search of a hammock

2002-04-11

And the poo patrol continues. I heard Lucy scratching around in the box last night so I ran upstairs and caught her coming out of the bathroom. I picked her up and took her in there, intending to mildly shame her if she'd pooped on the floor, but there was nothing there. I apologized quite sincerely, but I think she was offended. Francisco is going with the tactic of cleaning the box many times per day, and it seems to be working. Yesterday at least. Fascinating, no?

Francisco called Boy's mom last night and talked to her for a long time. She was okay with the notion that Boy will probably not visit this summer, but she is balking about the adoption. She told Francisco that her family would never forgive her if she signed the adoption consent papers. I can sort of understand this, but it won't change anything for her family, and besides, only her sister has shown an interest in Boy. It is all so aggravating. Francisco is going to call Boy's mom again this weekend, at her request, and talk to her again. He thinks it is possible she will consent to the adoption, but she might want us to keep it from her family. I hate that because I don't want Boy to be forced to keep secrets--I think it's too much of a burden for him--and especially not about the adoption. I don't want him to think he did anything wrong by wanting to be adopted. This whole thing is really stressing me and Francisco out lately. Like, my stomach ties itself in knots whenever I think about it.

That guy we interviewed this morning was a jerk, and we all thought so. It isn't often that all our opinions line up the way they did this morning, against this guy, so it makes me feel confident that I didn't misjudge him. He was arrogant, condescending (he only grudgingly answered questions not pertaining to his resume), and he dismissed The Osbournes with, "yes, I guess it's humorous". He also didn't seem to care much for Lucky Dogs. You can see, I'm sure, why we can never hire him. Our boss is cranky today and he groused to his second-in-command, "I wish the counselors wouldn't get together and form their opinions". He obviously thinks we're not capable of forming opinions by ourselves, but I can tell you I disliked that guy before the end of the interview, so my opinion was formed before I talked to anyone.

Earlier today I had parents come in and complain that their daughter was not offered a merit scholarship (which by the way my office does not award, a fact which stops very few people from complaining to me). They told me that they knew a girl who Was offered one from our school, and they said "Our daughter is better than she is", about 5 times. I was struck by the statement, merely because you don't hear this kind of value judgement very often. A person might say that they are taller than another, or stronger, or better at certain activities, but just plain Better? Not so much.

Francisco and I watched The Osbournes this morning while I was treadmilling, and of course it was funny. Poor Ozzy with the fractured leg--he's way too old and brittle to be jumping around like that. I wished I didn't have to do the treadmill this morning, because it made it hard to hear the dialogue, and it's already plenty hard enough with the bleeping and the accents. But I am committed.

I am also weary and uninspired right now, and a little vexed that nothing interesting has happened to write about. I can tell you with authority that it is an unbelievably gorgeous day outside, and I would love to be out there enjoying it. Perfect temperature, sunny with a nice breeze, and the birds are chirping happily. Now if I only had a hammock and a good book, I would be set.

Talk to you later,

E |

cats-kittens

come over some time & see me - 2011-02-25
let's not say goodbye - 2011-02-23
the Rachel Zoe collection - 2011-02-10
I feel happy today - 2011-02-04
the tiny snow stalker - 2011-01-25

design by simplify