Can this hair be styled?

2002-10-03

Last night Francisco was in the office and he heard some guy outside, in the park attached to our little development, yell, "I'm the King of Wildwood Park!!" Francisco, being the Monty Python aficianado he is, yelled out the window, "I thought Wildwood Park was an anarcho-syndicist commune!" There was no reply. Francisco was in a Monty Python frame of mind last night because we had just watched about half of The Life of Brian (our current Netflix DVD). What a funny, funny movie that is; I had forgotten because I haven't seen it for so long. We'll finish it tonight with our dinner.

I'm feeling a little annoyed today, because this morning I started thinking about how I really need a new hairstyle (due in no small part to the AtomicFriends--Atomic specifically), but I can't find any pictures on the interweb of hairstyles that would work for me. I have semi-coarse hair with a lot of natural curl, and almost all hairstyles I can find pictures of are for people with fine, straight hair. I want a cute haircut--a haircut that actually looks like a purposeful style. What I have right now is a style that can look good if I mess with it enough and if there isn't too much humidity in the air, and if I'm using the exact correct scientifically-detemined hair product, and if the hair at the front of my head isn't currently growing straight forward. I have this weird natural wave at the front of my hair, where bangs would be if I had them, and sometimes it grows backwards and sometimes it grows forward. I prefer it when it grows backwards; it looks better. Okay, I heard that. You're thinking I'm a total freak, aren't you. It's not my fault--this is my dad's hair, except that he doesn't have so much of it anymore (he's 71). Is it too much to ask to have a cute haircut? Because I think not. If anyone has seen pictures of cute, medium-short hairstyles that would work for coarse, curly-ish hair, I would be grateful if you could point me in the right direction. I'm floundering over here.

Boy went back to school today. He didn't have a fever (yet) and he didn't have a headache, but he was saying his stomach hurt a little. I'm starting to wonder if he really MIght have the mono. Because he hasn't developed the cough I had with my virus, and he hasn't lost his voice, and his throat hasn't been as sore as mine was. I remember that when I had the mono, I could feel my stomach all the time; it was very unpleasant. I lost about 15 pounds with the mono, which was fine with me, but Boy doesn't have any to spare, so I hope that's not what he has. If he's not better by next Monday, we'll take him back for the mono test. Poor thing.

Last night Francisco made potatoes with a dijon-chive dressing thing, and we had them with baked beans. Today I ate some of the potatoes for lunch and now that they're cold they're like a really good potato salad. I like potatoes that can multi-task. After the dinner I made oatmeal chocolate chip cookie bars and that was a pretty good treat. Boy and I watched Ed while Francisco scurried around on the web. I like Ed okay, but it's not my favorite show or anything. I only watch it because Boy LOVES it and he loves it even more if someone will watch with him. So we did that and then we watched West Wing, and I felt pretty lazy and slack-assed from watching so much tv. But I wasn't going to give up West Wing just so I could feel a little virtuous--hell no! I wait all week for that show, which should tell you something about how exciting our lives are. It was a pretty good episode but I liked the previous one better. On last night's episode, nothing really happened. There was a lot of talking about things that happened before, and things that were going to happen, but nothing really happened during the episode. I still liked it--the West Wing can do no wrong. I love it that Lily Tomlin is on there now--I think her character is going to add a Lot to the show.

I think that's all for now.

Love,

E |

cats-kittens

come over some time & see me - 2011-02-25
let's not say goodbye - 2011-02-23
the Rachel Zoe collection - 2011-02-10
I feel happy today - 2011-02-04
the tiny snow stalker - 2011-01-25

design by simplify