chug! chug! chug!

2001-10-19

I was forced to attend a workshop this morning that turned out to be unfortunately just as boring as I'd anticipated. I wrote the following haikus to try and amuse myself:

workshop in cold room

people talk; I can't listen

must have more coffee

slept in this morning

but should have gone to the gym

my ass feels bigger

boss is yammering

all eyes are glazing over

why won't he shut up?

hungry stomach growls

already ate a bear claw

when can I eat lunch?

They won't win me any awards, but at least I was distracted for a little while.

Didja watch Survivor last night? Wow, I am Really glad I'm not a contestant on that show. The bad water would do me in, not to mention the heat and the squabbling. I couldn't watch that whole "poke a hole in a cow and collect the blood" thing--I felt it was too barbaric, and it was very queasy-making when they drank the blood and milk-blood. I had a friend who spent time in East Africa and he had to consume a similar substance; it was milk and blood that had been fermented in a cow's stomach. Can you imagine? I don't think I would've been able to drink warm blood and milk, and I thought for sure someone would barf it, but I guess they were all just really hungry. The Sambura tribe is clearly the winning tribe, but I don't like the individual members all that much. That Silas (who looks like an underwear model, with brains to match) is sure in a good position. Everyone is vying for his loyalty, and he's playing both sides, but I very much doubt he will be the ultimate winner. Since he's playing both sides, he will eventually have to screw some people over, and they'll vote against him at the end. Re: the Boran tribe, I don't remember that country guy's name--I just call him Bubba--but could he BE more of a stereotype? I really dislike him. I like the guy with all the tattoos, but perhaps that should go without saying. I also like that Brandon, but we don't see much of him, so far. Overall it wasn't a really Great Survivor episode, but I trust the episodes will improve over time. Hopefully.

I think I confused some people yesterday when I spoke of Andrew's ZZ Top PT Cruiser arm gesture. He talks about it here. In the entry after that one, he even includes a little illustration of the arm gesture. Andrew rocks!

Other than Survivor last night, I talked to my mom and told her happy birthday. She told me she had bought herself a couple of purses, and I was glad to hear that. She doesn't buy herself enough stuff, in my opinion. Also last night we ate the risotto Francisco had prepared, and it was So Good. Lucy and Esther were sniffing around, trying to get a nibble, and they rarely do that with our food. I let Lucy lick my plate, which I know some people might find gross, but the dishwasher will kill any germs she might deposit, and she liked it so much. Anything for my girls...

I'm so happy it's the weekend. We're probably going to the state fair on Sunday, but other than that, no plans. I have enough projects to keep me busy, for sure.

My nephew or niece should be born in the next week or ten days, and I am very excited! I saw a hat I Have to buy for the baby, regardless of its sex--it is a little knit orange hat with a green knit stem on top, so that the baby will look all pumpkiny. I wish, actually, that the hats came in adult sizes, but maybe orange would not be a good color for me. Also, I think I need to buy the baby this pacifier. It's spendy, but how many kids have you seen with one of those? Not many, I'm willing to bet. Babies are such excellent shopping opportunities.

I thought I would have more to say than this, but I guess I was wrong. If anything occurs this afternoon I will definitely update again, but if not, have a terrific weekend!

Love,

E

PS I tried four times to edit this entry so that the haikus wouldn't be all screwy, but nothing I tried worked. Sorry... |

cats-kittens

come over some time & see me - 2011-02-25
let's not say goodbye - 2011-02-23
the Rachel Zoe collection - 2011-02-10
I feel happy today - 2011-02-04
the tiny snow stalker - 2011-01-25

design by simplify