is it a neck or is it a tree trunk?

2002-05-17

Oh my god, people, I'm getting a freaking Mary Lou Retton neck! This morning I tried to wear a necklace that has always been form fitting around my neck (this necklace used to fit around the base of my neck; not too loose, not too tight) and today I couldn't get it clasped. I went to Francisco and he got it clasped but it was so tight I couldn't wear it. It's all those damn shoulder weights I'm lifting; I'm becoming a gymnast-necked freak. I am not pleased, but actually I kind of am. At least I can see that the weight lifting is doing SOMEthing. I'll need to get more links put in that chain.

The necklace in question is very old--like 75 years old I think. I was my Great Aunt Laura's and then it was my mom's and now it's mine. It's an aquamarine teardrop, kinda biggish, and it's an old-fashioned setting but pretty. When I wear it I get compliments, and generally I rip off Woody Allen's old standup routine and say, "Thank you--it was my Great Aunt Laura's. When she was on her deathbed, she sold me this necklace." I then wait to see if people laugh or what--it's kind of a test. I won't be able to do that now until I get the chain lengthened. The way the setting is, it's part of the chain so I can't just change the chain. I wish I had a digital camera so I could just Show you the necklace. Less painful for all of us.

This morning Francisco was Bad! Cup! (note the exclamation points--this means he really Deserved the Bad Cup title). Do you know what he did to earn it? Last night before bed he went out back to pee off the deck--as is his way--and he didn't lock the back door afterwards. This morning when I got up, there it was; the unlocked door. That kind of thing freaks me out a little; I am a compulsive door locker. I should've ripped him a new one but I love him too much.

We went to the gym this morning and I lifted arm weights while Francisco lifted weights and did a recumbent bike. The gym was nice and empty--just the way I like it. There is a new person at the gym worth noting, if only for her preferred workout gear. She wears a Mary Englebrecht t-shirt with a god slogan and [this is the best part] culottes! When I first saw her on the treadmill I thought she was wearing those long, baggy basketball shorts, but then she did some weights and the culottage was revealed. This morning is the second time I've seen her culotted self, and it was entirely delightful.

By the way, yesterday we got a travel clothing catalogue in the mail and culottes were a featured item, but the catalogue called them a "split skirt". Oh PLEASE! In case you can't tell, I have a real beef against the garment; no matter What you call it. I am superficial like that.

You know how I said Francisco was going to cut my hair last night? He chickened out and could not be cajoled into changing his mind. I will go tonight to get it cut, after I choose my new glasses frames. I got Francisco and Boy to go with me to the glasses place, because I won't really be able to see myself in the frames and won't know if they look good. I'll have to stick my face right up to the mirror to see and so won't get the full-face view. I need my seconds to help me out so I don't end up with something god-awful.

All for now. I've gotta go hot-compress my eyelid. Still not significantly better--I am vexed.

Love,

E |

cats-kittens

come over some time & see me - 2011-02-25
let's not say goodbye - 2011-02-23
the Rachel Zoe collection - 2011-02-10
I feel happy today - 2011-02-04
the tiny snow stalker - 2011-01-25

design by simplify