and the award goes to....green apple martinis!

2002-04-08

I've been meaning to mention for quite some time that I really really hate it when people drive faster while going downhill--it speaks to me of a lack of self-control. My commute is hilly, so I have plenty of time to be annoyed by this. Both ways. That is all.

Okay, David Sedaris on Friday night was So Great!! He read material that was new to me (stories that have been published in magazines, but nothing from the books) and the stories were terrific and we all laughed so hard our faces hurt afterwards. He had a question and answer time after his reading, and he is as spontaneously funny as he is in his writing. I had wondered if his sister, Amy, would be there selling cheeseballs at intermission, and my friend Heidi had him sign her book before the show so she asked him if Amy would be there. He wrote, "sorry, no cheeseballs", in Heidi's book. She was thrilled. Apparently his whole family except for Amy was there, but when someone asked him to point them out (during the Q&A) he refused on the grounds that they've suffered enough. Anyway, he is totally worth seeing, so if he comes to a city near you, you should consider going.

Before the show we had dinner (I had shrimp and linguini with a spicy tomato sauce), and then because there was time we stopped at a pub and I had a green apple martini. It's very inaccurate to call them martinis (Francisco was disdainful, but only until I made him taste it; then he said it was delicious), but I really loved it. I think it will be my new cocktail of choice for awhile. I must make a trip to the ABC (NC liquor stores, aka Alcohol Beverage Control) for the green apple ingredient.

The rest of the weekend was not so good. Francisco had a cold and I suffered (again) from allergies, so we both moped around and didn't really feel like doing anything. We went out Saturday to get his sister a birthday gift, and we bought what we thought would be perfect, but it turned out she had it already (a grinding attachment for her KitchenAid). We went back on Sunday and exchanged it for some lovely earrings instead. When we were in a dept store on Saturday, a saleswoman was so rude to me, for no reason whatsoever; it was shocking. I won't go into the details of what happened, because I'm kind of tired of it now, but basically I asked her a question and she responded with a look of contempt combined with answering my question in a very condescending tone. Seriously, she addressed me as though I was a mentally challenged 4 year old child. She called me Pumpkin! I am 34! At the time I thought maybe I was imagining the whole thing, because it was so out of the blue, but as I walked away Francisco asked if HE'D imagined it, and we both concurred that it had happened and we didn't know why. Naturally I have written a scathing letter to the manager of that department store and have included the woman's name, which Francisco went back and read off her nametag. It is a pretty good letter--I may post it here when I have it typed up (it is still in draft form). I am That proud of my complaining abilities.

In other news, the cowbirds are passing through again and are decimating my bird feeders. Also, I purchased some new shampoo and conditioner this weekend, and I really like it. It is stuff I got from the natural food store--organic and packed with essences of various things. It is lemon verbena scented--it smells wonderful. I had been using some other natural shampoo, but it turned out to be Way too drying for my hair. It was a sage, eucalyptus and rosemary shampoo, and it smelled great but made my head itchy. See, for me it's all about the smell of a shampoo, and unfortunately sometimes the smell is better than the results. I can't tell you how many shampoo disappointments I've had over the years.

Remember several weeks ago when I took Francisco's briefcase in to have the handles replaced? It was about 6 weeks ago? Yeah, we just got it back this weekend, and I'll tell you. They are slow, but they are Good. Those handles look just like the old ones, and they only charged us $20. They are all leather handles, by the way, which I guess is why it took so long--I think they had to construct the handles themselves. Props to Jin Cleaners of Durham--they do good work.

Another thing, we rented The Contender this weekend, and it was quite good. Joan Allen and Jeff Bridges both gave excellent performances; I highly recommend this movie in case you haven't seen it already.

I guess that's it except to say, please. When you are shopping in the grocery store, don't park your cart in the middle of the aisle, and please try to be aware when you are blocking the way of other people because you can't decide between diced and crushed tomatoes. And please, do not let your small children run around wreaking havoc, especially if it is very crowded. Because I know if I accidentally bump into one of these small monsters with my cart, you will sue my ass but it will actually be your fault for letting them run wild. And if they won't stop screaming, please do not reward them with candy so that they will stop, because that's just wrong and you'll be sorry for it later.

I went to the grocery store yesterday and I practically blew a gasket. That place pushed all my buttons.

Love,

E |

cats-kittens

come over some time & see me - 2011-02-25
let's not say goodbye - 2011-02-23
the Rachel Zoe collection - 2011-02-10
I feel happy today - 2011-02-04
the tiny snow stalker - 2011-01-25

design by simplify