the good, the bad, and the ugly

2002-05-28

All Hell has broken loose at my house, meaning the carpet installation guys are there. Francisco is pissed because our installation fee purportedly included the disassembling and reassembling of beds and the desk, but when the guys arrived they said they don't take stuff apart. Francisco is going to demand Home Depot refund that portion of the fee, and hopefully they'll do it, because Francisco is sweating through the taking apart of things and he wasn't in the mood. Our house has been in an uproar since Saturday when everything in the living room and two bedrooms was shoved away from the walls to make room for the baseboard painting project. Francisco did that yesterday and it looks way nicer. He also painted the inside of the front door and got new knobs and locks for both doors, and I'll tell you, both doors look much better. Those knobs were original to the house, and they looked it.

I'm wearing new clothes today, specifically my "walk around Paris" pants and sleeveless top--both black. I painted my toenails red this weekend and I love red toenails; they make me happy. Still wearing the glasses, and I'm getting really worried now that I'll have to wear them to Europe, because the eye is not getting better. But see, these pants are so cute they almost counteract the badness of the glasses. The pants have a 'below the waist' waist (not Too low) and they have a tie in the back that is tres cute. I'm not in the best shape right now, but these pants make me feel like the cutest girl Ever. And that's worth 10x what I paid for them--they were on a good sale. Travel clothes-wise, this weekend I got two pairs of pants (including these), a skirt, a dress, a long sleeve top, a short sleeve blouse, a green t-shirt, and some underwear and bras. I am extremely satisfied with my bra purchase, in particular. Finally, FINALLY I have bras that fit right. I'd been wearing a 36D but it was too big around my torso, so this weekend I bought three 34DD bras (okay, actually one is 34DD and two are 34DDD, but that is circumstantial) and they are unbelievably much better and more comfortable. Is this too much information? Because I'm telling you, these bras are making a huge difference in my life already--no longer do the boobs require constant adjustment and readjustment during the day to keep them from peeking out the bottom of the bra or squeezing out the top in a Hee-Hawlike manner. I have, so far today, fiddled with my bra exactly 0 times. It's enough to make a girl verklempt with joy [wipes a tear].

Yesterday one of our little neighbor boys asked if he could "borrow" 6 AA batteries. I lied and told him I didn't have that size batteries (because I didn't especially want to shell out $5 of batteries to the kid), but he was quite insistent. I had to keep repeating that I didn't have them and he kept saying that he needed them. I won the battle, but the whole thing annoyed me for a few minutes. I'm sure his parents didn't know he was canvassing the area for batteries, but it would be great if they could explain to him that batteries aren't cheap. Perhaps if he comes back again for batteries I will offer to sell them to him. I could tell him to run home and get me $5 and I will hand the batteries over. I doubt I'd see him again after that, so probably that is the perfect course of action.

I've listened to Cake's "The Roof is on Fire" today, over and over again. My door is shut so I can do that, and it's just the thing for an aggravating Tuesday. I spent 7 hours yesterday reading files so that I could just enter info onto the computer this week, and what happens? Major system problems today, and occasionally the system is down altogether. It's irritating to spend so much time implementing a plan, only to have it thwarted. I will perservere.

My cold is much better today, but you remember how the right nostril was the early front runner and up for promotion? Over the weekend the left nostril, in a tortoise/hare display of perserverance and showmanship, has passed up the right nostril and has become the big producer. Still doing a lot of nose-blowing, just so you know.

Not much to report from the weekend--spend time working on lots of various things related to our upcoming trip and the carpet installation. Francisco called awhile ago and said that the carpet was coming along but going slower than he'd anticipated. He thinks we won't be able to get the place totally put back together tonight, even, but I'm hoping the guys will be gone when I get home and we can make some good progress. Apparently all downstairs furniture is in the kitchen--Francisco says he can't get to the stove or sink--so we'll be going Out for dinner. Look for the silver lining.

A thread on atomictonic this afternoon has me wanting to go out for dim sum, but that's only on Sundays so my craving for good authentic Chinese food must be suppressed.

I'm almost finished with the ugly scarf. I made a mistake a few inches ago and knit when I should have purled so there's one row of purling showing on the right side of the scarf. I decided not to fix it, thinking it will add to the general hideousness of the finished product. Here's hoping the recipient will agree.

Done for now--hope you had a great weekend!

Love,

E

|

cats-kittens

come over some time & see me - 2011-02-25
let's not say goodbye - 2011-02-23
the Rachel Zoe collection - 2011-02-10
I feel happy today - 2011-02-04
the tiny snow stalker - 2011-01-25

design by simplify