Good Cup/Bad Cup

2002-04-17

I don't really have any time to write today, so just three things.

1) This is the only time of the year when I am a powerful phone caller. Many times I will return a call to someone and be told that he or she is not in, and do I want to leave a message. I will say yes and tell them where I am calling from, and more times than not I will be told to hold on while they run to get that person. That whole important phone person thing is the only thing I like about this job during the month of April. No wait, actually there's one other thing I like, and that is swapping stories of nightmare phone calls with coworkers. Yesterday one of my coworkers received a call in which she was screamed at for several minutes and then the screaming guy said, "I don't know your ethnic background, but I would have to guess you are an apocalypic Jew!!" If you're anything like me, you're wondering what that would have to do with anything, and you'd be right to wonder.

2) Francisco and I have recently started a little game that amuses me. It is called, "Good Cup/Bad Cup". The way it works is, we have two coffee mugs that are the same except that one is white and one is black. Borrowing from the old cowboy movies in which the good guy wears a white hat and the bad guy wears a black hat, the white cup is the good cup and the black cup is the bad cup. Whoever makes the coffee in the morning will pour it into the two cups, add milk, and then, in the cheesiest and most suspenseful way possible (ideally in a Roman emperor thumb up=live/thumb down=die manner), will turn to the one who didn't make the coffee (this morning it was me) and hand them one of the cups. It's a judgement, see. This morning I was handed the white cup as an acknowledgement that I am the good one today because I will be home tonight with the Boy while Francisco will be gone to a work thing. I don't know why I enjoy Good Cup/Bad Cup so much, but I do.

3) The Boy called me a few minutes ago to chat, and I asked him how his mile run (for PE) went today. He said it went well and he told me his time was 6:57 (or something like that). I asked if he came in first, and he said no, that Daisy Mae (not her real name) had come in first, as usual. I hope Daisy Mae enjoys whipping all the boys' asses while she can, because she's a great runner but it won't be too long before the boys are beating her anyway. It doesn't seem fair, and I hope she doesn't take it too hard when it happens. I worry about girls, I really do.

I hope your afternoon is great!

Love,

E |

cats-kittens

come over some time & see me - 2011-02-25
let's not say goodbye - 2011-02-23
the Rachel Zoe collection - 2011-02-10
I feel happy today - 2011-02-04
the tiny snow stalker - 2011-01-25

design by simplify