get out the vote: an important sentiment, but grammatically weird

2002-11-05

Today I found out a friend is going to be in town over the weekend of 11/22-24, and I'm excited because I'm going to have him and another friend over for a little dinner party. I love having dinner parties! I just wish Francisco wasn't going to be out of town that weekend (his annual conference--in Toronto this year), because I will miss him. Now I'm trying to think about what to make for dinner, and it's a little difficult because my out of town friend has to watch his cholesterol. So no fondue, for instance. But I'm sure I'll think of something good, and we can mix up a bunch of drinks, and voila! Instant dinner party. Hopefully Boy can put up with all the merriment, but in any case, he'll be in bed probably long before the guests leave.

Speaking of Boy, he's recently fallen in love with the Lemony Snicket books, and I'm so glad. He likes to read but he's a little picky about what he reads, so when we find books he likes, we fall all over ourselves to get them. Fortunately our little library has the series, because there's like 8 or 9 books in it and I don't want to buy them all. I don't like buying books, truth be told. I like buying them if I know I'll want to read them more than once (or if they're like reference books), but if it's only once I'd rather get them from the library. I Love Inter-library loan. It is my new best friend.

If you haven't voted today, GO! I implore you. I voted before work and man, I love to vote. I love it very much and I wish everyone loved it this much so that everyone would do it. I heard on NPR this morning that only 20% of adults in the 18-24 age group vote. Wow!! That's nuts! No wonder Dubya got elected.

I totally forgot to talk about Survivor last week. If you watch, you know how they frequently tease you with "scenes from next week", making it look like something unusual is going to happen? And then it doesn't? Well last week I was truly surprised when old whatshisface told the survivors that they might be living on the same beach, but they were still 2 tribes. Francisco said, "Oh my god, you can practically Feel Shii-Ann's ass constricting!" Which was true, and I bet she was really regretting sucking up to the other tribe. That was quite a good episode, I have to say. Surprising.

Poor Francisco is getting a cold, so he's not going to his Shoot-Out tonight. It's raining anyway. And we're having leftovers for dinner, so it'll be a laid-back evening of soup and Buffy (for me and Boy). Boy had the day off school--teacher workday--and he had a friend over, so he should be in a good mood. Francisco is not only getting a cold, but he also got a couple of fillings yesterday, and his mouth was hurting last night so he took Tylenol PM. He has a big hangover from that today, the poor thing. The box says to take 2, but 1 is enough.

In a few minutes I'm going straight home to call my tattoo artist and make an appointment for the 15th. I'm going to try and get an afternoon appointment, and if he's available I'll take that afternoon off. I'll have to go in soon to talk to the guy (Glenn) and tell him what I want drawn, because I couldn't find a satisfactory ready-made phoenix anywhere. I've seen Glenn's portfolio, so I have confidence in his artistic abilities.

That's about all I have to talk about right now. I'm going home.

Love,

E |

cats-kittens

come over some time & see me - 2011-02-25
let's not say goodbye - 2011-02-23
the Rachel Zoe collection - 2011-02-10
I feel happy today - 2011-02-04
the tiny snow stalker - 2011-01-25

design by simplify