eBay can fill all your glass eye needs

2002-11-13

This afternoon I'm having to switch funds around on students' aid packages, and I am periodically compelled to intone, "Eva giveth and Eva taketh away". You think I'm getting a little full of myself?

Today I've been looking around on eBay, and I specifically did a search for "glass eyes", because I had the idea of attaching them to magnets, for the refrigerator. I found out that real prosthetic glass eyes are too rich for my blood, but there are taxidermy eyes I'm going to be monitoring and maybe bidding on. A search for glass eyes turns up two main categories--1) fishing lures [buh?] and 2) stuffed animals/dolls. However, there are some interesting freak things on there too. I emailed one such auction to Francisco and he wrote back saying, "Why don't you just look around and see if anyone is auctioning off a turd or an old ovarian cyst they found in the garage? I wash my hands of the matter." Please. I am So going to bid, and he's going to thank me when it's sitting on our coffee table. I wish I could tell you what I'm bidding on, but until I win it I'm keeping quiet. I don't want anyone swooping in to snatch it out from under me.

Oh, and just so you know, this doll bears an uncanny resemblance to my sister, when she was a toddler. It's really creeping me out.

And wouldn't it be great to buy this and put it in someone's bed? I'm going to stop with the eBay now.

Last night when I got home, I found to my great surprise and joy that Francisco had subscribed to Smithsonian Magazine (two year subscription!), and we had received the two most recent issues! I love that magazine, I really really love it. And I'm glad I talked endlessly about how much I love the magazine, because it was burned into Francisco's brain so that when he saw the 2 year subscription deal, he was robotically compelled to subscribe. He's the Best.

Something weird happened last night at my house. Apparently a sleep-inducing force field descended on the house, because everyone in it slept the sleep of the dead. I didn't wake up once during the night, and neither did Francisco or Boy. I don't know about the cats, but when we got up to go for a walk, they didn't move; I think they were under the force field's influence as well. It was so great; I haven't slept like that in weeks.

Last night's Buffy was pretty funny, I thought. Boy and I laid up in the bed and enjoyed it immensely. Francisco made a good dinner--I wasn't sure I'd like it at first, but now I want to have it every day for a week. He made a ratatouille and some polenta to put it on. It was the polenta I was unsure of, because I've had polenta that has been chilled and cut and baked, and that was good, but I didn't know how it would be when it was just soft and mush-like. It was Fabulous. I recommend.

We didn't see our kitty friend, Kiss-Kiss, when we walked this morning; it had rained so I think she was inside. I really love having a kitty friend because most of the time she comes running out to greet us in the mornings. I need to buy some kitty treats to give her, because then she'd Really like us.

West Wing tonight! It has trained me to look forward to Wednesdays. And only 2 more days until I get my tattoo! I hope Glenn will be able to do the whole tattoo in one sitting--he had mentioned the idea of doing the outline Friday and then having me come back for the color. That's how I got my belly one done, but I just really want the whole tattoo on Friday, if possible. Of course, after I've been there, suffering, for awhile on Friday, I'll probably be only too happy to do it in two sittings, but hopefully I can grit it out.

Yesterday during dinner we discussed "swear" words and when it would be appropriate for Boy to start using them. And we still don't know for most words, but we have decided to gift him with Ass for his 13th birthday. I know some people would say Boy shouldn't be using those words at all, but let's be realistic. He's going to use the words at some point, and I would rather give him permission than not. I think, actually, that the reason he's been so willing to not say "swears", as the kids call them, is because we've told him he can use those words someday but he needs to wait until he can use them appropriately. If we had told him that those are Bad words and he could never ever use them, he would think that was dumb and doubt our wisdom (plus, then We'd have to not use them and my head would explode). I can see why some parents put the total ban on the words, and that is certainly up to them to decide, but I think it'll work best for us and Boy if we ration the words and hand them over to him as gifts when we feel he is old enough to use them. Personally, I am looking forward to it, just as I am looking forward to showing him really good but currently inappropriate movies. That kid is just going to get better and better.

I'm out of things to say, so bye for now and if you watch West Wing tonight I would appreciate you giving Toby's ex-wife some squinty-eyed hate filled glares. If you wouldn't mind.

Love,

E |

cats-kittens

come over some time & see me - 2011-02-25
let's not say goodbye - 2011-02-23
the Rachel Zoe collection - 2011-02-10
I feel happy today - 2011-02-04
the tiny snow stalker - 2011-01-25

design by simplify