ooh....fuzzy.....

2001-11-14

I am sure being pampered at work today, on my fake birthday. I guess today is my cakeday, and tomorrow can remain my birthday. When I got to work this morning my office door had little signs on it saying Queen of Everything, and stuff like that, and there was a magic wand and a fabulous tiara on my desk. The tiara is the best--a coworker's husband made it out of thick copper wire and it says my name. No rhinestones or anything, but that's just fine. There was also a hot pink marabou-trimmed object (won't try to describe it) on my desk to add to my collection. My collection started with a marabou-puffed pen my sister gave me, and then I was given a pink fake fur box that had marabou on it, and now the new object. I know it's only a 3 thing collection, but it seems to have an impact. Just last Friday I had a guy come to see me and he was sitting across my desk talking to me, and he looked at the hot pinkness in front of him and touched it and kind of trailed off while stroking the marabou. He then said, "Oh! I'm sorry; I'm easily distracted." It was a hoot.

I went at lunch today to the "Orient Supermarket". It used to be Oriental, but the 'al' fell off the sign. It is run by a Korean family, and it's a very small store but is crammed full of everything you could want. They carry not only Korean, but Japanese, Chinese, Vietnamese, and Thai foods. I was there to buy ingredients for Pad Thai but they didn't have the key ingredient--the sauce--so I had to give up. I went afterwards to a good grocery store and found the sauce and all other ingredients, which is great, because the Pad Thai is my birthday dinner tomorrow.

Attention people who love me and want to call me tomorrow to say Happy Birthday: Please do not call me between 8 and 9, EST, because I will be watching Survivor and will be surly if interrupted, even by people I love. I know this is shallow and wrong, but that's just how it is.

Two unrelated statements--1) Bob Hope, in his prime, was really funny. I didn't realize that because I had never seen his funny movies or his standup routines until I watched an A&E biography on him. He was freaking hilarious, for real. 2) I am taking this week off the gym. I'm pmsy and that always makes me lazy (high progesterone = logie tattoobelly), plus this week feels very hectic and I'm enjoying the peace of sleeping in.

That said, this morning I woke up at 4:30 and laid awake for about an hour. My brain kind of clicked on and wouldn't shut off. The cats, sensing this alertness, began to mill and try to get under the covers. Francisco was awake this morning too, and for longer than I was. He is very stressed out because he has been applying for jobs lately and was hoping to start getting called for interviews. Some of the employers will be interviewing at the conference Francisco is attending this weekend, so he is concerned that he has not heard from any of those employers. I'm pretty surprised, to tell you the truth, because he's a strong candidate. He's an excellent student and has good reference letters (or so I assume) and has a lot of teaching experience already. I think he'll get some interviews, but he's worried he won't, because he knows someone who applied to several different schools one year and didn't get even one call for an interview. The guy got a job the next year, but he's the horror story sticking in Francisco's mind right now. I think if Francisco is fated to get a job this year, then he will, and if not, then not. I'm finding it much easier than he is to be Zen about this whole job thing; he's not sleeping much and I'm worried for him. Dammit! Someone call!!

I read a headline yesterday on CNN that was so horrifying to me. It was one of those offshoot stories, regarding the plane crash on Monday. It said, "Experts worry Monday's plane crash will further dampen holiday spending." See, I find it incredibly disheartening that when bad things happen, some people immediately talk about how it will effect consumer spending. I can't stand it that in the US, everything comes back to money; it's So Depressing. 260+ people are dead, and some suits are concerned that it will make people not buy as many unnecessary gifts as in past years. It's like, no matter what happens here, god forbid it should make us spend less. What a corrosive attitude.

Also, someone whose girlfriend is pregnant emailed me ultrasound pictures today, and I didn't even know about the pregnancy until now. It weirded me out a little, and that poor woman, because if the baby has her boyfriend's gigantic melon head, she is in for a world of hurting.

And on that note, I bid you adieu. It is almost time for the office to have my cakeday celebration, so I need to prepare my gracious acceptance speech. When they get ready to sing the happy birthday song (which I Hate), I'm going to insist on the "you look like a monkey, you smell like one too" version. Should be fun.

Talk to you tomorrow....

Love,

E |

cats-kittens

come over some time & see me - 2011-02-25
let's not say goodbye - 2011-02-23
the Rachel Zoe collection - 2011-02-10
I feel happy today - 2011-02-04
the tiny snow stalker - 2011-01-25

design by simplify