got a fever, and Pringles have nothing to do with it

2002-03-25

I only have time for a tiny entry today, as I must be done with all my files by noon tomorrow. This would be no problem if I was not sure to be given more between now and then.

You know how sometimes you wake up in the morning and, even though you have no major symptoms to point to, you Know something is wrong in your body? I woke up to that, and it's been a long time since I've been sick so it took me a few minutes to realize why I felt so unsettled. I tried to deny the impending illness for a couple of hours, but I can deny it no longer. I'm getting the flu. I would say it is a cold except I have a fever, and I don't get fevers when I have colds. Today should be interesting in a hellish sort of way. I just need to last at work until noon tomorrow, and at this point I think I can do it. We'll see. If I end up delirious with fever, I know one or two of my coworkers will help me out and do the rest of my files for me. They're good people.

This morning I was fumbling around trying to pack some BFL meals for myself, and I put some cottage cheese into a small container (to be eaten with an apple, though by the way, I feel like eating NOTHING, due to the fever). I then went to put the lid back on the cottage cheese and somehow I managed to drop it so it rolled off the counter and into the 4-inch space between the counter and refrigerator. I stuck my arm in there but couldn't reach it--it was pretty far back. I got out a spatula and tried to get it but only succeeded in pushing it basically behind the refrigerator. I was getting pissed. I managed to pull the refrigerator out enough to reach it (swearing all the way), and then I decided to sweep up the dust bunnies back there, as long as I was at it. I did that and was shoving the refrigerator back into place, and I knocked out the extension cord that was plugged in behind there. Pulled the refrigerator out again, plugged the cord back in, and shoved the refrigerator in again. Success. I put the broom and dustpan away, returned to finish making my meals, and there was the final insult: A dust bunny in my cottage cheese. I would have laughed if I didn't totally feel like dog shit.

I think that'll do it for me today. Hey, Catie is over her illness now, so go read and congratulate her. Another person who deserves congratulations is Judybean , who recently birthed a fabulous baby. I will say right here and now that I think she has done the right thing with the bottle (she has received criticism-can you believe it?). Breastfeeding is best (duh), but it doesn't work out for everyone. Far better that a baby get enough to eat with formula than get an inadequate amount of breast milk. This is my opinion and I'm sticking with it. Don't MAKE me open up a can of whoop-ass.

I'm really done now.

Love,

E

|

cats-kittens

come over some time & see me - 2011-02-25
let's not say goodbye - 2011-02-23
the Rachel Zoe collection - 2011-02-10
I feel happy today - 2011-02-04
the tiny snow stalker - 2011-01-25

design by simplify