startling noises if you don't know what they are

2003-12-02

Ladies and gentlemen, the packages are rolling in. They have mostly contained the atomicswap ornaments, which are all fabulous and are decorating the faux evergreen swag over the doorway from the living room to the kitchen, but yesterday? Boy received a package from Atomic and Ozzy on which was written a warning that he should not open it in front of me and Francisco. We respected Boy's privacy and allowed him to open it in secret; we didn't have to wait long to find out what was in it. It was during dinner that I first heard the noises emanating from under the futon--from directly under where I was sitting to be precise. I was worried for a few seconds that it was Lucy making the sounds, but no. It was a remote-controlled fart machine that Boy was operating from his hiding place in the kitchen. People. A remote-controlled fart machine. Think about the genius of that gift for a 12 year old boy for a minute, if you will. Pure brilliance, and I think I'm going to have to borrow it and bring it to work sometime.

Our house is all decked out for the holidays now, and to those of you who say we're ridiculous for decorating so early, I say cram it! I want to enjoy the lights and the tinsel tree and the garland and all the ornaments for as long as possible. Life is short, no? Let me have the gaudiness while I can. The washer/dryer closet is tiled and painted and shelved and it looks huge, what with the new shelves and all. It of Course took way longer than we thought (as is inevitable with all home improvement projects) but it's done and it was worth the effort. Doing laundry is fun again! For the next week or so, anyway.

Thanksgiving was a good day--we went out and had a good meal, though what I ordered was far too salty and Francisco mentioned that to the waitress when she asked how the food was (he tasted it). I didn't eat much of it (salmon with fetuccine and some kind of tomatoey cream sauce) so it was nice that they didn't end up putting it on our bill. The appetizers were good, as was the dessert, and I'll just remember that next year I should get the special thanksgiving meal instead of any of the regular stuff. That pasta made my lips feel all shriveled, like when you eat popcorn at the movies. Groce.

The rest of the weekend I didn't feel very well, and I finally concluded yesterday that I was sick with some kind of virus. On Friday, Saturday, and Sunday I was assuming my nausea and headache and etc were due to fumes from the paint and the tile glue, but Sunday things progressed into the...shall we say...intestinal realm, and yesterday morning I woke up with a splitting headache, as well as the nausea and etc. I called in sick yesterday and laid around until the late afternoon, when I went to TJ Maxx (and btw I'm wearing a great sweatery shirt that I got for $20 and I love it very much) for xmas gifts. Anyway, today I feel right as rain, except that I found out some boss of my boss (a newly hired woman) wants to meet with me and some of my other assistant director-type coworkers in a couple weeks, and she wants to meet with each of us for 2 hours. 2 hours!! I have to meet with her on the 18th, from 8 to 10 in the morning. There are no words for how much I'm dreading that, especially because, um, excuse me, I'm never even Here at 8 in the morning. Maybe I'll bring some croissants or something to soften her up.

Gotta charge off--I've got a Boy to fetch from Tae Kwon Do and grilled cheese sandwiches to make. As per usual on Tuesday. I sort of really like having that be my every Tuesday night thing, and I think Boy does too.

Love,

E |

cats-kittens

come over some time & see me - 2011-02-25
let's not say goodbye - 2011-02-23
the Rachel Zoe collection - 2011-02-10
I feel happy today - 2011-02-04
the tiny snow stalker - 2011-01-25

design by simplify