what is that thing Called, anyway?

2002-05-09

Okay, you know how I was going to the eye doctor yesterday to get fitted for new contact lenses and make the doctor look at my eye again? I didn't think it would be much of an ordeal, but wow was I wrong. I had to get the full check-up with the pupil dilation and everything, and if you're a glasses or contact lens wearer, you know that sort of big indescribable thing you have to look through while they dial through lense strengths and say, "Which is better; one, or two? One, or two?" Well, the woman did my right eye first and then she was doing my left eye, and towards the end of that she said, "Which is better; five, or six? Five, or six?" and do you know what happened when she dialed up six? Can you even guess? Six was NOTHING! There was no lense in six, and it was because I had hit the end of the lenses. I used them all up--can you believe it? So the woman is demanding to know which is better, five or six, and I said, "Ummm.....six has no lense. Did I get to the end?", and she said, "Well...yes." I mean, I could see fine with five, but to not even have the option of six was a cruel blow. The first cruel blow, as it turned out. Once I got to see the actual doctor (the first person was an assistant), she told me that my eyelid infection could go on for a month or more--I almost cried. I told her that's not going to work for me, and I'm going to hot compress this eyelid several times a day, because no way am I wearing my glasses to France. She also told me that the 30 day disposable lenses I wanted are not available in my prescription, so I have to get 90 day disposables, probably. She then reiterated that I am not a candidate for Lasik, which I'd been told but I sort of thought I might get a different second opinion. So it was a bummer all around, but the cherry on top was yet to come. I checked out and paid a hefty "fitting fee", and because my eyes were dilated they had to give me some of those ugly sunglasses, because I don't have prescription sunglasses. They were not the dorky plastic and cardboard sunglasses I remember from my youth--they were even worse. They were a tinted piece of plastic that one puts on under one's glasses--they sort of cling around the sides of the head but the glasses actually hold them on. I knew I looked utterly ridiculous and pitiful. I put them on and went outside, picturing myself. I sort of laughed hysterically for a minute but then got quite despondent. I held it together until after I paid for parking and got out of the lot, and then I bawled almost all the way home.

You know how sometimes you're upset about something but you have a little voice in your head laughing its ass off because deep down you know the situation is kind of funny and you'll laugh about it later? I had no little laughing voice. I knew I was totally pathetic because I had the hideous plastic sunglass/glasses combo, and did I mention I could barely see? Yeah, I don't know how I made it home without crashing. I'm finally amused by the whole thing, but yesterday? Not even a little. I stopped crying about 3 minutes from home (had to get my shit together so as not to alarm Boy) and planned what I would do once I got there. 1) drink a glass of water and take some ibuprofen (for the cramps and the sore shoulder); 2) turn on the dryer so as to de-wrinkle the clothes that had been in there for 3 days--fold them and put away; 3) empty the dishwasher and put the dirty dishes in; 4) hand wash a couple of sweaters and lay them out to dry. I did all that stuff when I got home and then I hauled out the vacuum, but before I vacuumed I sat down and watched two RW Chicago episodes (taped from Tuesday night). They were fairly soothing because they distracted me and also I figured my life could be so much worse--I could still be in my early 20s and single and lost as to who I am and what I want from life. Not all 20-somethings are like that, for sure, but I definitely was so it's a huge relief to be so much more grounded, and to be married to my best friend. This eye thing will get better--I think actually it's a little improved today--and things will be fine, I know they will, but I'll tell you; yesterday was not one of my better days.

Did you see West Wing last night? Because it was one of the best episodes I've seen--I loved it so much! It was horrifying when Sam's "friend" betrayed him, to the great detriment of the president, and I really like the romance developing between CJ and the secret service guy. So. Damn. Good. I haven't yet watched The Osbournes from Tuesday night, but I taped it and I heard it was good, so it is definitely on the menu for tonight. [sorry Lora--commentary pending]

Our office was notified yesterday that our parking lot is being paved and that it will be closed for Six Whole Weeks, starting Monday. My question is, where the hell are we supposed to park? Because it's a big lot and several different buildings use it, and there are no other close parking lots for us to use. This is not a good development, because it is my practice to haul home huge bins of files during the busy months, and how can I haul them home if I have to drag them for blocks to and from my car? I'm rather pissed, actually, because even though I am Very Happy our lot will be paved (the gravel is ruining my shoes) this could not have come at a more inconvenient time, and it's pretty short notice. We're supposed to get an email today to tell us where to park on Monday, but so far, no email. I guess it's going to be an adventure--that is how I will think about it from now on. Maybe I will finally get some use out of my roller skates (bought from eBay a couple years ago)--I can skate in from whichever far-flung lot we're banished to.

Francisco made the best smoothies last night. Have I mentioned how much we're loving smoothies lately? The one he made last night was mostly with frozen peaches, but I think he said there were a few strawberries in it, and he added a few drops of vanilla. The vanilla was what put it over the top into best-smoothiehood. It was totally yummy. I want another smoothie tonight--it's 90 degrees here and I will take all the icy drinks I can get. I wish we weren't out of frozen cherries, because those are my favorite.

Can I tell you something Francisco and I do in the mornings, relating to coffee? This is separate from Good Cup/Bad Cup (btw Francisco was Bad Cup this morning because he forgot to turn off his alarm and it woke us both up at 5 a.m., which is much too early). Whoever makes the coffee tries to make the absolute fullest pot possible, and we have a carafe-type coffee maker where the cafafe is not clear so you don't put your water in there first to measure it. The best pot of coffee is the one where the carafe is so full that the coffee is in the spout but not running over. We both stop everything to admire the perfectly full carafe. When it runs over, the person who made the coffee will say, "I flew too close to the sun on wings of wax." I'm not sure why we have these little rituals, but I love them so much.

I think I'm finished for now. Have a great night. Remember to watch Survivor...

Love,

E |

cats-kittens

come over some time & see me - 2011-02-25
let's not say goodbye - 2011-02-23
the Rachel Zoe collection - 2011-02-10
I feel happy today - 2011-02-04
the tiny snow stalker - 2011-01-25

design by simplify