Tsunami!!

2003-03-04

This morning I filled up my big cup at the water cooler (cup holds about 32 ounces) and after it was full it slipped out of my hand and hit the floor, and almost all the water that was in the cup splooshed out in a big tidal wave--right up into my face. It was icy cold and shocking; I told people it was refreshing but really it was annoying and got the floor all wet. But whatever; I dried off and no harm done. When I tell you that the incident was the most exciting thing that happened all day, you will understand that I have little to work with, material-wise, but I'll do my best.

Today my boss had me on the phone to a national organization, to ferret out microscopic details in the federal regs. The lady I talked to was helpful at first but I could sense her getting more and more vexed with me the longer I persisted in my, "but what about..." inquiries. I'da been vexed too--I was only dogged about it because I knew the boss would make me call back if I didn't pin her down on the issue. I reported back to the boss and there is Still debate raging in the office. We just need to make a decision already.

I want to learn the metric system; I'm tired of the US being this ritardo inch/foot/yard-measuring place. Not to mention ounces and pounds. Give me liters or give me death! I mean, seriously--why are we stuck with this antiquated system? And what about the temperature--we need celsius!! Fahrenheit is a cool word, but it's just not cutting it anymore.

Last night when I was going to sleep I tried to set my internal alarm clock for 5:40, and instead what happened was I beganwaking up at 20 minute intervals, starting at about 4:00. This produced a series of bizarre dreams where people turned into menacing aliens, and stuff like that. When I woke up at 5:51, I figured that was close enough, and I got up, but it was cold so I got back in bed for a few minutes. While there I was debating the idea of getting up to do yoga even though I Really wanted to stay in bed. Does the act of doing something healthy that you really don't want to do give you extra credit? I'd like to think so, because I did end up hauling my ass out of bed for the yoga, and it was good. I then had time to pack my breakfast and lunch AND sit drinking coffee with Esther on my lap for a few minutes before my shower. So I guess that was my reward, and that's just fine.

I'm a little obsessed with my Crash Team Racing left thumb callous. Probably 'obsessed' is too strong a word, but I'm really enjoying worrying it with my left index finger and poking it with my fingernail. I think I like the callous--it doesn't make my thumb look noticeably different, and it's extra thumb protection. In a way I'd like my whole body to have such a callous. Well, not my Whole body, because there are some parts I'd like to leave sensitive, but Most of my body. Thank you cooperate.

Dear Atomic,

Meow?

Love,

Tattoobelly/Witness

Francisco made a roast for dinner last night, and he made oven fries for him and Boy, and I made a big salad for all of us, but mostly for me, because Francisco and Boy just wanted a little salad. It was lovely. I was even able to have a few Dove chocolate eggs, because I could afford them, calorie-wise. I'm not sure what Francisco is making for dinner tonight, and I don't care, because I'm just grateful he's making dinner. I find it difficult, sometimes, to go from thinking about work to deciding what to cook for dinner, so him making dinner is a great, great thing.

And I think I'll go home and enjoy the evening--hopefully you will too.

Love,

E |

cats-kittens

come over some time & see me - 2011-02-25
let's not say goodbye - 2011-02-23
the Rachel Zoe collection - 2011-02-10
I feel happy today - 2011-02-04
the tiny snow stalker - 2011-01-25

design by simplify