gleeful donut makers

2003-05-29

This just in:

Coworker who is cheating on her Atkins Diet: Eva, do you want a dark chocolate donut?

Me: No thank you.

Coworker who is cheating on her Atkins Diet: Are you sure? It's a healthy heart donut.

Me: .... [momentarily nonplussed] No, but thanks anyway.

Healthy heart donut? Please. This is obviously a [successful] marketing campaign, dreamed up by some donut company. There could not be any such thing as a donut that promotes heart health. And that particular coworker has gone on about 12 diets since she's been working here, and she always cheats on them and gives up. But it's not enough for her to give up on her diet; she also tries to bring other people down with her. Just wait, next week she'll be bringing in tons of junk food, trying to tempt people. Get thee behind me, coworker.

So, it's heating up here again (after days and days of rain and cool weather) and the air conditioning guys haven't finished with the central AC yet. It was supposed to be a week-long project, and it's 3 weeks later now and we've got no air conditioning. I'm on the second floor and I'm too warm today, though not sweating profusely. I put my hair up to promote neckular air circulation and I'm toughing it out. My headache is back today; I cut my caffeine a tiny bit more this morning, so maybe that's the culprit.

Oh kids, I have my annual exam tomorrow and I'm dreading it so much. I need to make a list of the stuff I want to talk about and make sure everything gets addressed. Last night I woke up with my heart racing (and I wasn't having a nightmare), which I attribute to stress over seeing a doctor soon. I hope everything goes okay, because if my brain's panic button gets pushed tomorrow, this phobia might make my head explode. Which it is trying to do anyway; it doesn't need any help.

Boy is going on a field trip with his class to the beach tomorrow. We have to deliver him to the school at 5:45 a.m., and he'll get back Late tomorrow night. I hope he has a great time, but I have to say I worry a little bit about sending him off on a bus that will be on the road for more than 4 hours, cumulatively. I'm sure he'll be okay, but I can't help feeling a little anxious. I used to have a friend who had 3 kids and she was such a down to earth kind of person--very sensible and not overprotective. One time she told me that she worried about her kids all the time, and it surprised me because she never, ever showed it, so that's the kind of parent I am trying to be--the kind who projects confidence and a lack of concern, even though I get worried about things like field trips to the beach.

I have really kicked ass at work today--I'm totally burning through my files. It doesn't hurt that my new motto is, "Well hell, it's not MY money". I'm going to go home now and have dinner and call my friend who I was supposed to call last night but forgot to call. I hate when I do that. I'm also going to make an appointment to get my hair cut and get the pedicure Francisco gave me the gift certificate for, on Valentine's Day. We decided not to leave on our vacation until Sunday the 8th, so I'll get my hair cut and toenails painted the day before and will be ready to go. I love that. I also love that my arm muscles hurt today from my weightlifting yesterday. Progress.

Love,

E |

cats-kittens

come over some time & see me - 2011-02-25
let's not say goodbye - 2011-02-23
the Rachel Zoe collection - 2011-02-10
I feel happy today - 2011-02-04
the tiny snow stalker - 2011-01-25

design by simplify