sudden burst of domestic activity

2002-02-05

I went to Old Navy during lunch, and can I just say, if you have a baby or know a baby, Old Navy is a great place to shop for baby stuff. I got 2 hats, 2 pairs of socks, and a cute pink footless sleeper for my niece, and it was great fun. Plus, one of the hats is red fleece, and it has little devil horns. Guess how much that hat was, just guess. You are wrong. That hat was marked 99 cents, but it rang up at 10 cents. TEN CENTS, people. I was very pleased. I went there specifically to get The Boy a couple of pairs of jeans, since he is outgrowing all of his pants. He's not getting much wider, but he's sure getting taller. Most of his pants are now capri pants, hence my buying trip. And the store gave me $10 off because I spent over a certain amount. I love Old Navy.

Work has been getting me down a little bit lately. Shall I tell you why? You've twisted my arm.

1) My boss continues to be assy on a daily basis.

2) This new computer woman who started working at our office in December is really irritating me. My first impression was that I didn't like her, but I felt I was being unfair and I should give her a chance. So I've been nice to her, but I have recently figured out that I was right to dislike her initially. I will not go into why this is, but let's just say her flaws and transgressions are numerous. This is now causing me a problem because I no longer want to be sucked into conversation with her, but now that I've been nice to her, it is difficult to suddenly begin purposely ignoring her. I have to pass her office to use the bathroom and actually I am forced to print to the printer in her office, so I am constantly being drawn into unwanted conversations with her, and I'm not sure how to make it stop. Suggestions? I am kicking myself for not being cold to her all along, because had I been unfriendly I would not be in this position now.

3) One of my favorite coworkers is thinking seriously about leaving. She has been taking metalworking classes at night for at least a year, and she is considering quitting here in favor of renting some studio space and doing metalworking full time. She is fortunate to have a spouse whose earnings allow her this option, and I will miss her at the office but am excited for her to pursue her dream.

Last night I went home (at 4:00-I'll be doing that Mondays and Wednesdays through mid-May) and did a load of laundry, emptied the dishwasher, mopped the kitchen floor (my least favorite chore) and made dinner. I'm not sure what inspired this shitload of industriousness, but it made me feel fairly good. After I did all the worky things, I curled up with my Real Simple, which had arrived yesterday. It made me feel cozy. I need to do house cleaning sorts of things this week, because Francisco and I will be hosting a friend's surprise birthday party on Saturday evening. I would prefer to not have to do everything on Saturday, so if I do the cleaning things I can just do food and decorations on Saturday. I'm going to switch my free BFL day to Saturday instead of Sunday this week so that I can enjoy tamales, margaritas, and birthday cake. Should be a good time. I wish I could attend Catie's big birthday bash this weekend, but since I can't, I will have everyone raise their glasses in a toast to her.

Last night I watched a show on Discovery about electroshock therapy; it was bizarre. It seems that this treatment is becoming popular again, and it seems to help a lot of people, but still. Creepy.

I know I had something else to say but it is escaping me at the moment. I'll get back to you.

Have a great night!

Love,

E

|

cats-kittens

come over some time & see me - 2011-02-25
let's not say goodbye - 2011-02-23
the Rachel Zoe collection - 2011-02-10
I feel happy today - 2011-02-04
the tiny snow stalker - 2011-01-25

design by simplify