the horizontal stripes do nothing for his chubby physique

2002-12-09

It needs to be said that my boss has his dog here today, because he's got no power at his house and the dog is cold. The dog is currently wearing a sweater--a red and white striped sweater. He's a smallish white poodle but not groomed in that fussy poodle way. Picture this dog and picture him in the sweater. Are you picturing him? His name is Beauregard. I rest my case.

I hate not updating for so long because now I have too much to say. I had intended to update Friday night, but I forgot our high-speed internet was down (with the cable), and also we had our friends over to spend the night because they didn't have electricity and it was cold. They stayed with us Saturday night too, but not last night (even though the electricity was still off) and they might stay tonight, depending on if the power gets restored. Everyone in this area has their whole life revolving around electricity in one way or another right now. It makes a person realize all over again how potentially fragile our whole infrastructure is.

So this weekend we hosted our friends and cooked and read and watched a little television (once the cable was working again) and I finished the scarf I was working on, so that was sort of an accomplishment. I also bought more yarn because I'm going to make myself a red hat with little devil horns--it's very cute. I got my favorite yarn for that project. I only went out a couple times this weekend, because it was harrowing (and also, almost nothing was open). Many of the stoplights were out and people don't seem to understand that when the stoplights are out, the intersections are supposed to be 4 way stops. I almost got hit a couple of times because people came barreling through the intersections without stopping. It's good I was alone because I was yelling some choice phrases. I mean, how hard is it to remember to stop? Jackasses.

I have a new plastic bracelet, and I love it so much. It's like these big plastic faux-amber chunky beads, on an elastic string. It's extremely Betty Rubble and it's making me way too happy. I bought a pack of two from Fire Mountain for $2.50. $2.50! I mean, come ON. This is why I don't care about real jewelry--how in the world could diamonds or sapphires make me happier than a $1.25 plastic bracelet? They couldn't, that's how. But I have to tell you, Fire Mountain really rocks. I put an order in on Tuesday night; the site indicated my order would be filled on Wednesday and shipped on Thursday, and I paid for 3-5 day shipping, but my order arrived on Friday. I love that--I am a very satisfied customer. If you need beads or findings or finished jewelry, or a Betty Rubble plastic bracelet, Fire Mountain is your man.

We watched a really good film this weekend--'The Gleaners and I'. It's a French documentary about people who eat food they find, and use stuff thrown away by others. Some are actually gleaning what the farmers don't pick or do pick but reject as not sellable, but others are eating from garbage cans and stuff, and picking up furniture off the streets. It's a very interesting film, and I recommend it highly.

We also listened to a really good cd this weekend, but you won't find it in any store--oh no. This is a cd/Christmas card made and sent by the Catie. Isn't that a great idea?! She put a bunch of good songs on a cd and then made a little card thing to go inside the case. I just think that's a terrific idea, and the songs are really good ones. It'll be on continuous play until after the holidays.

Hmm, I guess I didn't have as much to say as I thought I did. I'd probably have more to say if the office wasn't so busy today--the frantic pace is sucking my creativity. At least I have the Betty Rubble bracelet to keep my spirits up. And I can look at a dog in a sweater, any time I want. Life isn't all bad.

Love,

E |

cats-kittens

come over some time & see me - 2011-02-25
let's not say goodbye - 2011-02-23
the Rachel Zoe collection - 2011-02-10
I feel happy today - 2011-02-04
the tiny snow stalker - 2011-01-25

design by simplify