devil gnomes

2002-04-26

I have done little work so far today. With the pressure easing and the emails and phone calls dwindling, the motivation to bust my ass is gone. There are things I need to do, but the lack of urgency has made me complacent. This is not good--I need to work hard to get my stuff done before we leave for Europe. Note to self: Stop being so lazy!

I really love that book on tape I checked out of the library. I went to the liquor store and grocery store at lunch, and after both errands I still had 30+ minutes left on my lunch hour, so I drove around, listening to the book. The problem with a book on tape, I've discovered, is that I want to hear it at other times than when I'm in the car, and I don't own a walkman tape player. We have a stereo, but I don't want to inflict my book on tape on Francisco and Boy, because I know they won't be interested. So I'm finding reasons to drive places, just to hear the book. I am a doofus.

Survivor last night was good, as expected. I liked when Pascal and Sean won the reward challenge and they hugged so violently they fell over and rolled around in the sand. It was very From Here to Eternity. Funny that they smuggled food back for the others, and diplomatic. Francisco and I felt sorry for Zoe when she got voted out, and it was because she really didn't anticipate it. She doesn't seem to have the ability to "read" people the way the other contestants do. I sorta think maybe she got sucked into the alliance and decided to ride it out, and then when John got voted out she thought she could ameliorate her participation in the alliance by making shell jewelery for the non-alliance people. She just doesn't get it, and that makes me a little sad for her. Next week should be good too; I'm looking forward to it.

This morning I got up and made 16 chocolate chip scones to bring to work. Well, Francisco and Boy ate two each, so I brought 12 to work, which was enough. I couldn't get it together enough to go to the store before work so I didn't bring the chai, but I got it at lunch and offered it around, and people drank and liked it. No one at my office had had it before, so it was fun for me to see them like it.

In other news, Esther's ear smelled like poop this morning, and I'm not sure why. There was no evidence of poop on her ear, and the reason I was smelling her ear in the first place is because she usually smells really good. Not this morning. Also, Francisco offered to plant these cannas I bought awhile back (they're in bulb form, so they could wait), and they are of the variety "Lucifer". Francisco had the brainstormy idea to someday plant a garden that is all devil-themed. There are a lot of plants named Lucifer this, or Devil that, so why not group them? Boy suggested that we put devil statues in the devil garden--he said that some people put gnomes in their garden; why can't we put devils in ours? I agree, and someday this idea will come to fruition. I swear it will.

I think Francisco and I are going out tonight, because he hasn't called to tell me otherwise. He was going to confirm with our babysitter that she will be available, and he is going to come by the office for the cocktail hour tonight. I got the sour apple schnapps and the vodka, so the office is ready to roll. I don't know what we'll do when we go out--we haven't made a plan--but we'll think of something, I'm sure.

No weekend plans except to go to the new mall and get a gift cert. for my departing coworker. Boy will probably have a friend spend the night on Saturday night, but I'm not sure if that's set in stone yet. He was funny when he asked me about it. He said, "Can I have a friend over to spend the night? He's a really GOOD kid from my class" [heavy emphasis on 'good']. A good kid, huh? I can get behind that.

Whatever you're doing for the weekend, I hope it's fun. Take care, sugarloaves.

Love,

E

|

cats-kittens

come over some time & see me - 2011-02-25
let's not say goodbye - 2011-02-23
the Rachel Zoe collection - 2011-02-10
I feel happy today - 2011-02-04
the tiny snow stalker - 2011-01-25

design by simplify