day off

2007-07-03

So, we've been invited to a party in Seattle on the 14th, and I don't really care if we go but Francisco thinks we should; therefore we're going. The party has a beach theme which, if I know this crowd (and I kind of do), will translate for most of the female attendants as Slutty Beach Babe. After giving my costume due consideration, I went to the Goodwill and bought a muu-muu. I'm going to accessorize with various items to give the costume a Miami Beach Retiree feel, plus I plan to call everyone "doll" and talk about my sciatica. No one will know what to make of me and my costume but it's virtually guaranteed to keep the wandering hands of strangers offa me, and that's definitely one of my goals. More about this as it develops.

I am So. Excited. to be off work tomorrow. I know it's only been two days of work so far this week, but they have gone by v. slowwwwwwwwly, and I can use the break. The slowness has not been due to lack of work, but rather because it's been so effing busy, I guess. Not fun at work right now, I can tell you.

Last night I went for a walk with Christina and afterwards she showed me her collection of salt and pepper shakers (Impressive!) and I met her 3 cats, 4 dogs, and 1 parrot. All her animals were sweet except for the bird who tried to bite me but who also allowed me to teach her to say "mama". I've been trying to teach Esther to say mama for YEARS with no result, and that damn bird picked it up in 5 minutes. It was gratifying I guess, but I wish Esther could learn it instead. Sighhhhh.

I just called home to ask Shark for an inventory of our foods so I'd know if I had to stop at the grocery on my way home, and I don't, but out of the blue he asked me to teach him how to drive. Francisco has been planning to teach him but for some reason Shark wants me to do it, so I agreed but lordy LORD what was I thinking?! It's possible me teaching him to drive will prove to be the worst idea ever, but I don't know.

I got my stitches out yesterday and I'd like to tell you once again how much I like my doctor--he is super nice and thorough and I hope he never moves away or anything. My removed mole was just a normal mole--no melanoma or anything--so all is well. (I know you were worrying.)

Have a happy holiday tomorrow if you get one (I HOPE you do!)--talk to you later.

Love,
E

|

cats-kittens

come over some time & see me - 2011-02-25
let's not say goodbye - 2011-02-23
the Rachel Zoe collection - 2011-02-10
I feel happy today - 2011-02-04
the tiny snow stalker - 2011-01-25

design by simplify