Locusts, Universe? You have gone too far this time.

2002-05-31

Okay, so did you hear that Afghanistan is being swarmed by locusts that are eating all the crops? As though those poor people needed anything else to deal with. Locusts creep me out. Does anyone know, do we just naturally not have them in the US, or do we have them but effectively exterminate them before they do damage? Anyone from the wheat belt want to pipe up?

I was thinking yesterday about an article I read a few years ago, in Glamour I think, about a college-age woman who survived meningitis, but her arms were amputated at just above the elbow, and her legs amputated just above the knee. The article was interesting for several reasons, but the thing that stood out to me most was that, at some point in dealing with the whole "I woke up with amputations on all my limbs" trauma, she started to feel relieved that she was no longer on the same playing field, so to speak, as other women her age. She realized she didn't have to compete on the same level anymore because she was different and would always be different. That realization helped her through the adjustment, and I don't know why exactly, but I have thought about that several times since reading the article.

My contact lenses are really killing me today, because I wore them too long yesterday after not wearing them for such a long time. My eyes look totally stoner-y, but I don't want to take the lenses out until I get home, though I could. The eyes have Got to readjust, pronto! In the meantime I'm going through artificial tears like it was crack.

Last night's Boy school thing was kind of fun. All the kids who were there from the class (not everyone) gave a little presentation on different aspects of nature--volcanos, reptiles, insects, fish, etc. My Boy did mammals, he was very cute. At one point he said marsupials aren't mammals and the girl who runs faster than everyone corrected him, and he said, "Oh yeah, that's what I meant." He was holding a guinea pig while he talked and afterwards said he wanted a guinea pig for his birthday. Francisco and I have agreed to it, but we won't ever get singular pets so Boy will get 2 guinea pigs. Those poor squeaking things need company, since they'll be stuck in a cage and all. We'll get a really big cage.

Oh, speaking of pets, a couple weeks ago Francisco and I went to the pet store to get the solid gold food for our cats (it's Royal Kanin--it costs muy mas but there's a lot of food that doesn't agree with my girls--the Eukanuba light food, for instance, gave Lucy the shits every day she ate it) and the pet place had ferrets! I knew very little about ferrets when I walked into that store, but the girl who worked there was apparently bored and when we showed an interest in the creatures, she took it upon herself to educate us. She let us hold them and told us that they don't bite like people think they do (unless they're mistreated), and yadda yadda; basically I came away with the idea that they are excellent pets. I can't have them while I have cats, but at some very future date they might be up for consideration. My main qualm about them would be that they have to be caged while you're not home, because they get into EVerything, and when you're home and let them out of the cage, you have to watch them. I'm not sure I want a pet that high-maintenence. Also, and no offense to ferrets or ferret lovers, they kind of smell. Not bad, per se, but weird and it's pretty strong. We smelled like ferrets the rest of the day.

It should be apparent to all that I don't really have anything to talk about today. I'll catch you later. In the meantime, stay tuned to Joleen's tattoo convention adventure. I can't wait to read about her new tattoo, if she gets one. I hope it works out!

Love,

E |

cats-kittens

come over some time & see me - 2011-02-25
let's not say goodbye - 2011-02-23
the Rachel Zoe collection - 2011-02-10
I feel happy today - 2011-02-04
the tiny snow stalker - 2011-01-25

design by simplify