it'll probably come back to bite me on the ass....

2002-11-08

Why is it that cats are sometimes possessed by demons in the middle of the night? And why do they have to inflict that on others? Last night my cats had a demon night, and Lucy was especially effected. For at least two hours, she sat in various parts of the house and yowled. I knew what she wanted: she wanted me to fill up the food bowl. But dammit, I was trying to sleep, and they had some food left; I know they did. Still, every 2 minutes, "Mrraaow!" She's normally a quiet meower, when she talks at all; she apparently saves all her talking and volume for the nights of possession.

So I didn't sleep much and got up feeling extremely tired and sorry for myself. I even wept a few bitter tears while grinding the coffee, and even though I was not struck down by the family cold during the night, I called in sick to work. I know, I know, I'm tempting fate. But see, here's the beauty of today's fake illness: I said I had a migraine. I do get those occasionally, so it's not unbelievable, and a migraine is one of those things that, when it's gone, it's gone. I won't have to fake some kind of lingering illness next week or anything. And if I Should get sick with the family cold, that will be totally separate from the migraine, and so I can stay home sick with the cold if I need to.

I do feel guilty about this, just so you know. I hate lying, even when it's lying that hurts no one. But it was either call in with a "migraine" or go to work and be exhausted and have to fake working anyway because I have nothing to do. I wrestled with the dilemma for about 20 minutes and the "migraine" won out.

Today I am going to take a nap and mail a package and buy some more cat food, because I put the rest in their bowl this morning. And something else I'm going to do, that I have already started, is every couple minutes I'm going to shriek, "LUCY!" from wherever I am. We'll just see how She likes it.

Love,

E |

cats-kittens

come over some time & see me - 2011-02-25
let's not say goodbye - 2011-02-23
the Rachel Zoe collection - 2011-02-10
I feel happy today - 2011-02-04
the tiny snow stalker - 2011-01-25

design by simplify