I would be a social butterfly if I cleaned up my language

2001-12-14

Okay. If you have come to this diary via a Google search for "how to build a catapault", then I beg you, I BEG you to email or guestbook me. There are so many of you, searching the web for directions on catapault building--is it a competition? Dudes, I Have to know! You people are driving me crazy, for real. I get 8-10 unique Google searches per day about catapaults and building them, which I have never done, by the way, and do not know the first thing about. Please: Someone just let me know what's up with the catapaults all of a sudden.

Survivor last night: I'm sorry to see Brandon go, because he had really grown on me. I particularly enjoyed when he and Frank won the reward challenge last night, and he yelled out, "I've got a date with Frank!" It was fabulous. I think my new favorite person on the show would have to be Big Tom; I just like him more and more, and at first I couldn't stand him. I loved that at the tribal council, Ethan and Tom and Kim all broke rank with Lex, who is getting more and more gestapo-esque every day. I really hope they vote him out next week, because he needs to go.

Last night Francisco and I let Boy open one of his Xmas gifts (we're not dragging his gifts out to Seattle, because what would be the point?), and he chose the dart set. He loved it! We attached it to his bedroom door and we played with him, and then he played by himself for a long time. This morning he started playing with it, but it was making a lot of noise and Francisco was still asleep (because he's got a cold and is pitiful), so I put the kibosh on the morning darts. Francisco got up at about 3:30 this morning and worked for awhile in the office, and then came back to bed after 5. He does that sometimes when something is stressing him out, and I think he was probably stressed because he has to turn in grades today. Hopefully he will nap today so that he doesn't fall asleep at 8:00, because it's a Friday night, after all.

Our office went out to our holiday lunch today, and it was fun. I had tortellini in a red pepper cream sauce, and it was pretty good. For dessert I ordered a Millionaire, which is a coffee drink heavily laced with chocolate liqueur. I had never had one before and didn't expect it to be so strong. In short, Eh. I won't order it again. After we got back to the office we did our gift exchange, and it turned out the person whose name I had drawn had also drawn my name. She gave me a matching ring and necklace that are "mood" jewelry, and a "World's Biggest Candy Necklace". It's pretty big, alright. My favorite part of the necklace is the nutrition information, where it says, "Serving Size: � necklace". I really love that.

Did I tell you Boy has a cold? The other night I had to tell him to blow his nose, because his breathing was grossing me out. I said, "Dude, go blow your nose. You sound like you're breathing through a Jello snack." He thought that was really funny, but I was serious--it was disgusting. Why is it kids hate to blow their noses? I remember hating it when I was a kid, but I don't remember why. I was probably just lazy.

I have a new favorite, and I'm mentioning him because he cracks me up and I want to share his greatness with others. Also, Weetabix made me laugh hard today with her eye doctor story, and she could make you laugh too. The "kick you in the prunes" part is what really got me--go see for yourself. Catie has a wonderful entry today, but then she usually does. She is definitely someone who knows how to count her blessings. I was thinking today about how cool it is to get to read about so many people's lives, here in Diaryland. I like that I get to read about people in lots of different parts of the country, and in other countries. It's probably sad, but I feel like I know my "buddies" a little--like I'm sort of involved with their lives. I'm sure Francisco is tired of hearing about people neither of us have met, but he doesn't let on.

A few days ago Boy was talking about the cats and he was saying Esther doesn't like him. We started to protest, but then we thought about it and realized he's right; she doesn't like him. Whenever he sits down next to her on the couch, she gets up and moves. If he pets her, she walks away. In discussing it, we decided that she is jealous of him, because there is no other reason for her to dislike him. He has always been very gentle and nice to both the cats, and Lucy (who is very cautious) lets Boy pet her, and she has even sat on his lap on one or two occasions. Also, Esther stopped covering her poo in the cat box shortly after Boy moved in, and we noticed that but thought it was because MIL moved in with her cat around the same time (yes, talk about a high stress-o-meter). See, cats will leave their poo uncovered when they want to assert their dominance, so we thought Esther was trying to tell MIL's cat that she is the top cat, but MIL's cat moved out a few months later and Esther is still not covering her poo. The cat box is in Boy's bathroom, and just so you know, Microsoft Word really doesn't seem to like the word 'poo'. Lots of red squiggly underlines in this paragraph. I have had Boy brush Esther a few times this week, because Esther is a total brush whore, and I think she is finally starting to warm up to him, but only time will tell.

Today at our lunch, a couple know-it-all coworkers tried to tell me and another coworker, Aaron, that the animals in our respective yards aren't chipmunks; they're voles. We argued with these women but they would not believe us, and they even had us half-convinced. They said there are no chipmunks in this state, and they said that voles have stripes. A few minutes ago we looked up chipmunks on the web, and there are chipmunks in NC, and the pictures of them prove that they are the animals we've each seen. Also, I looked up voles, and those are Not the animals in my yard. We printed out the web pages showing the chipmunks and that they live in this state. One of the women has left for the day and one works in a different building, so we faxed the evidence to the different building woman and then left it for the one who has left--she will see it on Monday. Moral of the story: don't try to tell me I don't know chipmunks from voles, because you Will get a fax.

I have more than exhausted my material today. Have a great weekend, whatever you're doing. Oh wait--is anyone going to a fancy party over the holidays? Because I'm not, and no one I know is, and I've been wondering who gets invited to fancy parties. Who buys those fancy dresses the department stores sell in the Fall? And why is no one inviting me to fancy parties? Maybe it's because I say the word 'ass' so much.

Love,

E

|

cats-kittens

come over some time & see me - 2011-02-25
let's not say goodbye - 2011-02-23
the Rachel Zoe collection - 2011-02-10
I feel happy today - 2011-02-04
the tiny snow stalker - 2011-01-25

design by simplify