I think he's serving under Captain Morgan

2002-09-20

When I got to the office this morning I checked my emails, which is always my first order of business, and I had the best email ever from a student. I've deleted any personal information so that I could share it with you:

"Avast,*

I be needin' an enrollment verification to be sent to _______, employer of me father. I'm currently swashin' me buckles on a sea-dog of a Non-Filer Form. Did that scurvy Profile ever reach your office? If not, I'm preparin' ta board and keelhaul CSS!

Arrrr,

-____ [student's name]

* today be national Talk Like a Pirate Day!"

I just...I loved this so much, and it was great to be able to laugh my ass off first thing. I know maybe it's wrong to have favorites, but I can't help it; he's my favorite student now. I wrote back in somewhat the same vein, though restrained, you know, since I feel the need to be Somewhat professional.

Survivor last night was fairly interesting, I thought, and it didn't take me long to despise one of the players--that Robb guy. At first I thought he was a dumbass because he brought a skateboard as his luxury item. I mean, hello? Where's he going to skate? And then I thought maybe bringing the skateboard was an ironic gesture on his part, and possibly he could turn out to be okay. But. Then he started acting like a big titty baby jerk and basically stayed like that the rest of the hour, and it's all over for him. His team needs to lose next week and offload him, because he is both a dumbass AND a big jerk. Or so it seems. I was surprised the one team (haven't gotten their tribe names memorized yet. haven't even tried to remember them, actually) voted off the pastor, because the footage hadn't shown him being very objectionable, so stuff must've happened that wasn't shown. I'm all curious as to what he did to earn the vote.

I bought a jade plant awhile back, because I love the way they look and I'd always wanted one, and that thing is dropping leaves like crazy lately. Pretty soon it'll be nothing but branches and no leaves. Does anyone know anything about jade plants and their requirements? I'll hunt around the web and see what I can find. I'm thinking it might not be getting enough light, but it was next to a south facing window and I'm not sure what more I can do for it. I don't think I'm overwatering it--only watering once a week, but who knows.

This morning I shaved my legs with the new Kiss My Face shave cream I bought last week (I love that stuff because it's like the stuff that comes out of the lubricating strip on razors with lubricating strips), and it is Patchouli scented, which is nice. It took me straight back to my college days. I went to a hippy school and the smell of patchouli was perpetually in the air, despite it being the early 90s. God bless the neo-hippies; they were still protesting the Vietnam War.

I just listened to an mp3 of Jack Black singing Let's Get it On, which I downloaded and have on my C drive, and that man can really sing. I don't think I'd like him in person--I think I'd end up killing him--but he can sing and I think Tenacious D is a really funny concept, so there you go. That is all.

This whole week except for yesterday I have eaten a cheese sandwich as part of my lunch, and I'm telling you this because Leiden cheese rocks. It's similar to Gouda but it has cumin seeds in it. Highly Recommended.

Yesterday I visited Andy's site and checked his diary to find that he is doing the coolest thing. He bought 2 disposable cameras and labeled them each to say something like "take one picture of anything you want and pass it on. if you take the last picture, please mail the camera to : [his address]. I will reimburse you for the postage, and you can check www.thedose.com to see the pictures". He left one on the T and one in a bathroom somewhere. I hope people go along with the project and that he gets both cameras back, because I want to see the results. I wish I lived in Boston because then there might be a slim chance one of the cameras would come my way.

I forgot to say that last weekend I caught several episodes of that show "The Dead Zone". When I first had it on, Francisco came into the room and I pointed to the television, and said, "Look at Anthony Michael Hall; he looks so different from when he was in those John Hughes movies." Francisco flat out refused to believe, for about 40 minutes, that it was Anthony Michael Hall. The Boy and I lined up against him, and we all sat there grimly until the end credits so that proof could be gotten. Francisco is still in shock, I think. After seeing most of an hour-long episode, we were all sucked into watching--the station was running back to back episodes--for longer than I want to tell you. I have added AMH to my List, by the way, because he has Filled. Out. Nicely.

As my parting gift to you, please go here and scroll down. I could Not stop laughing, especially at the Carmen Miranda getup.

Have a great weekend,

Love,

E |

cats-kittens

come over some time & see me - 2011-02-25
let's not say goodbye - 2011-02-23
the Rachel Zoe collection - 2011-02-10
I feel happy today - 2011-02-04
the tiny snow stalker - 2011-01-25

design by simplify