maybe if the baby was fired from a cannon...

2002-08-26

Yesterday Francisco and I went to Michael's Crafts with 6 pieces of art we need to get framed. Four are things we brought back from our trip to Europe (mostly the Van Gogh Museum in Amsterdam) and two we've had for awhile. We left 3 of the 4 from Europe at the Michael's, to be framed, and one we have to bring back when our frame of choice is back in stock. Of the two remaining, one is over 5 feet long and we're having trouble getting that one framed in a manner we can afford. The odd size presents all sorts of challenges to the framers, but we thought we had it worked out in a really cool way, with a red velvet matte and a cool black frame (this is a big poster of tattoo art from the Amsterdam Tattoo Museum, which is no longer open, so the red velvet worked well). When the cost was calculated, it was going to be over $400 for that piece alone. Um....no. I bought it for about $15; no way are we paying $400 to get it framed. We were in the Michael's for almost 2 hours yesterday; I was bored toward the end and didn't care anymore.

On the way to the Michael's, Francisco and I had a brief but entertaining discussion about hurricanes, and how strong the winds would have to be to hurl a baby through the wall of our house. My stance on the matter was that the baby would have to be moving at unfathomable speeds in order to punch through the wall, because it's a squishy object. Doesn't density make a difference in this kind of equation? I never took physics. Francisco thinks strong hurricane winds would be enough to hurl the hypothetical baby through the wall, but I think he's wrong. We are not as heartless as we sound.

After Michaels, a trip to the grocery store and then back home. Because we were delayed with the framing so long, I was back too late to pick up my refilled Synthroid prescription, and I ran out yesterday, so today I'm sans Synthroid. I'm a little draggy but not too. I'm going right after work to get the new pills.

This morning when I was attempting to turn left out of my neighborhood onto the more trafficky street, a red truck pulled up to the left of me, blocking my view, and he was turning left. I was yelling, "Hello?! Do you not see that I'm turning left? What the fuck do you think you're doing?!" I made rude gestures, but if the person driving the truck noticed, he or she didn't care. I couldn't see into the truck--it had tinted side windows. And of course that bastard took MY opportunity to pull out, and I was livid. Murderous, even. I was vowing to find that truck in my neighborhood, in the dead of night, and key the crap out of it, but I know I won't do that even though I am Positive the person deserves it. Because you just know he/she does that kind of thing all the time.

Our first 3 Netflix movies arrived today--it's such a cool thing. I think I'm going to love me the Netflix.

I'm too busy, work-wise, to write anymore now, and I don't have much to report anyway. Maybe tomorrow.

Love,

E |

cats-kittens

come over some time & see me - 2011-02-25
let's not say goodbye - 2011-02-23
the Rachel Zoe collection - 2011-02-10
I feel happy today - 2011-02-04
the tiny snow stalker - 2011-01-25

design by simplify