people, he called me MOM

2002-05-13

I must rant, and unfortunately for you, this is my main forum. Today's rant is about the popular complaint, "Society puts too much pressure on women to be thin and perfect", and the reason it's bothering me is, WE are society. If we don't like beauty magazines telling us, explicitly or implicitly, that we not good enough, we should just stop buying those magazines. Why buy a publication that makes you feel bad about yourself? Why watch a tv show that makes you feel bad about yourself? Now, I'm all for self-improvement, but there are some things you cannot change about yourself, even with surgery (which is dangerous and extreme), so why are we making ourselves feel bad about those things? Should I feel bad that my feet are size 10? Because who's to say that size 10 feet are too big? Should I spend a lot of time feeling sad that I do not have lovely Sophia Lorenesque cheekbones? Stop buying the goddamn magazines if they make you feel bad. Buy Mode instead! I read that magazine once at the gym and I thought it was really great. It has a fashion component, but the major focus of the magazine is about feeling healthy and happy and good about yourself. This is definitely a switch from Glamour or Vogue, no? Can you imagine how quickly those magazines would go under if people decided they weren't going to buy a publication that glorifies the genetically fortunate?

The thing that got me started was hearing a book review from a friend about a book wherein a woman struggles with her weight and self-esteem, and there is apparently a lot of bitching in the book about women who are naturally thin and beautiful. And that got me thinking--can those women help the way they look? Why should anyone resent them? It's not their fault their genetics coincided with the current national ideal of beauty. I'm not going to grow 6 inches and develop striking cheekbones, no matter how much bitching I do, so what a waste of time! Here's my resolve: I'm going to work to change the changeable things and accept the non-changeable things. I'm going to fill my life with people and creative endeavors and cats, and I will be HAPPY. Who's with me?! I'm serious when I say that we can change society if we don't like it. Sure, it won't happen quickly, but I really believe it's possible. It's that Grass Roots thing. People, I swear to god, we can make Cellulite the next big thing; I shit you not.

I'm very excited today because 4 people have joined my LegallyBlind diaryring! I didn't expect anyone to join, really, and especially not so soon. It's a little thing, but little things please me. On a similar note, I'm still wearing my glasses. I've seen some eyelid improvement, but it's not over yet. I am not going to gripe about it because that is just tiresome. I'm shooting for the eyelid to be better by the end of the week.

Yesterday was a really great day, unexpectedly. The day was a pretty normal Sunday but Francisco went on an unexplained errand in the early afternoon, and was gone for at least two hours. When he got back, he and Boy went upstairs and I heard whispering and etc. They came downstairs and Boy presented me with a gift, a card, and an origami daffodil. The daffodil was lovely and the gift was the new Cake cd, which I mentioned once, a long time ago, that I wanted and Boy remembered. He remembered and without any prompting from Francisco, he asked if Francisco could buy the cd so that he could give it to me for Mother's Day. The card was the best, so I saved it for last. On the front was a drawing that said "Happy Mother's Day". On the inside it said, "#1 Mother" and had a little poem Boy wrote wherein he refers to "My Mom". He also drew a little picture of himself with devil horns that was quite nice. On the back it said, "You are wonderfull [sic] and are getting better!!" Now I ask you: Could you have withstood the happy tears? Could you have gotten that card and not gotten all verklempt? Of course not. [for new readers, just so you know, Boy is my nephew and has lived with us for three years. We are in the process of adopting him, and he has never called me "Mom" before--he calls us by our first names.] I shed many a happy tear and made sure he knew they were happy. He was pleased.

Francisco did a nice thing for me: when he was out he washed the car and vacuumed and cleaned it. It was quite dirty and horrifying, so I am happy it looks nice again. He also took me to the used bookstore in my quest for Vogue Knitting. It's out of print and even though there is a new updated Vogue Knitting coming out in August, I was still thinking I might like to own the old one. Didn't find it and lost the auction for one on eBay, so I guess I'll just wait until August.

Otherwise this weekend, we bought a travel journal and a few books. We got "A Year in Provence" and Rick Steves' guide to Italy and his "Mona Winks" guide to European art museums. We also purchased two ceiling fans--one for the living room and one for our bedroom-and the carpet. Needless to say, the carpet was the Big expenditure, though it actually cost less than we'd anticipated. Always a good thing. The carpet guys should call today or tomorrow to schedule the time to install it. We are So going to love having new carpet; if you could see the carpet we have now, you would nod your head knowingly.

That scarf I'm knitting is coming right along. I figure I'll be done with it on Saturday or so. My next project will be making new bedroom curtains and a new bed cover. I'm thinking a thin quilt for summer (big blocks for ease of sewing), but if I could find an orange blanket, that would do. It would have to be a good shade, of course, and orange blankets are tres scarce.

I'm out of time for writing, so have a great afternoon and I'll talk to you tomorrow.

Love,

E

PS Huckle came up with a great idea recently (she wrote in my guestbook) and I would like to officially say that she is a genius, but I won't talk about her idea yet because I haven't yet gotten back to her about it. But I will, and for real, she is smart and has fun ideas. All I will say is, if you knit or if you'd like to knit, stay tuned. Film at 11:00. |

cats-kittens

come over some time & see me - 2011-02-25
let's not say goodbye - 2011-02-23
the Rachel Zoe collection - 2011-02-10
I feel happy today - 2011-02-04
the tiny snow stalker - 2011-01-25

design by simplify