If only I was a burglar

2002-07-03

Okay. I know I mentioned that there is a big parking lot paving/building construction thing going on next to and behind the office I work in, and this has effected our parking. We've been having to park a few blocks away and walk, but that's not really a problem. The problem I didn't anticipate is that the paving and construction apparently necessitates huge machinery driving around next to and behind our office all damn day, and it is LOUD. It shakes the whole office and today it is Really getting to me. Some guy is steamrolling our driveway and my office is right by the driveway. Very unpleasant.

You know how last night I had such big cleaning and organizing plans? One should never plan. When I got home, I was so glad to be there. Catching up at work has been stressful and I love coming home at night, and I had the house all to myself until about 8:30. But I couldn't get in. I totally forgot that I had taken my house key off the keyring to leave for the catsitter while we were on vacation, and I had no key. I thought I had a key, for awhile, and I tried it in both the front and back doors, cursing it when it wouldn't let me in, but that was the key to the study closet. I was Locked Out. I would like for you, my interweb friends, to make a guess as to what I did in the situation. Did I:

A) Break down sobbing and then sit in the truck, sulking, for 2 1/2 hours until Francisco got home,

B) Call a locksmith and get into the house that way, or

C) Go to the movies.

You have your guess? The answer is C, except when I got to the movies I remembered that they all start at 7-something and it was only 6:00 and I didn't want to see a 7:00 movie because then I wouldn't get home until after 9:00. There are some shops near the movie theater, so I bought myself a new nail polish--pale, pale pink--and some concealer. I then went to the nearby grocery store and bought a book. I was going to buy a magazine but they had Dave Barry's novel, the name of which I can't remember right now, so I bought that. And then I went to the really good non-traditional Mexican restaurant next to the grocery store and got a Negro Modelo and a tempeh enchilada with brown rice and black beans. Delicious. I ate and read and then I went home to wait for Francisco. He got home 15 minutes earlier than I'd expected, so that was good. And we put the house key back on my keyring, so problem solved.

We started watching Crazy Beautiful last night but took a break 30 minutes into it, because both of us were aggravated. I hope the movie improves because right now I just really want Kirsten Dunst's character to come to a bad end. I do not like her character at all. We're going to finish watching the movie just in case something bad happens to her, because that will be so enjoyable. What I am predicting at this point is that her annoying best friend dies and that her death inspires Kirsten's Dunst's character to change her ways. That would be okay too, because at least one of those idiots will be dead, and the other would not be so annoying to watch. If you liked that movie and think I am retardo* for not liking it, keep it to yourself. I might still end up liking it; I'm just saying right now it's giving me a cramp.

That is all I have to report except that I did the treadmill this morning and feel disproportionately proud of myself. It was difficult to get out of bed this morning because Esther wanted to cuddle and she is so adorable that 99% of the time, what Esther wants Esther gets. I disappointed her this morning but it was good for my body to exercise, so maybe we can cuddle tonight to make up for it.

You have good July 4 plans? I do. We're doing nothing. You heard me--nothing. This will be the first July 4th in several years where we have not had a barbecue or done some celebratory thing or been compelled for the Boy's sake to buy fireworks, so we're looking forward to doing nothing; it'll be fabulous. We're going to see The Bourne Identity, but other than that, no plans.

I might update tomorrow, if I'm not too busy doing nothing, or I might just wait until Friday. Either way, talk to you later...

Love,

E

PS *Re: "retardo"--it means "delayed" in Italian. After our train to Milan had stopped in the middle of nowhere, Italy, and been retardo for an hour, I told Francisco I thought the whole damn country was retardo, but more on that train trip another time. I am using the word retardo all the time now, so I just wanted to explain the origin because you will see it again. |

cats-kittens

come over some time & see me - 2011-02-25
let's not say goodbye - 2011-02-23
the Rachel Zoe collection - 2011-02-10
I feel happy today - 2011-02-04
the tiny snow stalker - 2011-01-25

design by simplify