we dodged a bullet this time, for sure

2002-12-11

This morning Francisco sent me a link to a NY Times article he thought I'd enjoy. I read the article, and did indeed enjoy it, and I emailed him to tell him thanks and that it was interesting. His response? "Your cat smells like ass". Oh sure, anytime the cats stink, they're MY cats, but when they do cute things they're his. It's good this doesn't apply to Boy as well, because if it did he'd almost Never be mine.

Speaking of Boy, yesterday we found out one very good thing that resulted from the ice storm: His school's winter concert is cancelled. Now, before you go thinking I'm a terrible person, you need to remember this is junior high. No longer are the children small and adorable. They are hoods, by and large, and you know almost none of them can sing. Elementary school concerts are hard on the ears but at least you can sort of laugh at the kids, being all cute and awkward. Junior high kids are an abomination. It's not their fault, mind you, but they are. They're all self-conscious and they act stupid and laugh too loud and the girls dress like tramps, er, Brittney Spears. It's too much for anyone to stomach, and Francisco and I have been dreading the concert for weeks. It was supposed to be tonight, but we were delivered at the 11th hour by the cancellation. We are grateful, Universe. So very grateful. Let me know if I can do anything for you; anything at all.

Last night Boy and I were going to watch Buffy, as is our way, but it was a rerun, so instead? We watched The World's Best Bathrooms. It was fairly interesting, though none of the bathrooms were particularly beautiful, even (or maybe Especially) the one with the solid gold toilet. It was just fun to be watching such a ridiculous thing. My favorite bathroom was the women's bathroom with the bar in it, because, duh. It's in a restaurant and women can go in there to take a break from their dates, or whoever.

When I was a student I worked 12 hours a week at my college's financial aid office, and I worked with some really fun people. One of the women was this great, outgoing, funny woman, and everyone liked her a lot. When she was pregnant with her second baby and getting ready to go on maternity leave, there was this huge baby shower for her. The only man in the office decided to dress up as her, pregnant,; and he borrowed a maternity dress from someone, under which he stuffed pillows to achieve The Belly. He was going to make an entrance into the shower, and a minute before his big moment, his pillows came unfastened. I was the only one around so he had no choice but to ask me to help fasten them. We were both embarrassed because we didn't know each other well and I had to see his underpants in order to refasten the thing holding the pillows. We agreed to never speak of it again, and he left a few months later to go to grad school. Now that I'm older and more of a smartass, I hope I someday run into him again, because he's practically the only person I barely know to whom I could say, "I've seen London, I've seen France...I've seen your underpants". The way I figure it, this would be sweet. I thought I saw him once, years ago, at one of Francisco's conferences (he went into roughly the same field as Francisco), but I wasn't sure and he didn't seem to recognize me at all, so I thought it must not be him. But if I think I see him again, I'm going to ask.

The chipper/shredder is back but this time it's parked on the front lawn, just outside my window. This is very unpleasant and I'll be glad when that poor tree is chipped/shredded and gone. Talk about your noise pollution.

I've got actual work again today. Here I go --

Love,

E |

cats-kittens

come over some time & see me - 2011-02-25
let's not say goodbye - 2011-02-23
the Rachel Zoe collection - 2011-02-10
I feel happy today - 2011-02-04
the tiny snow stalker - 2011-01-25

design by simplify