these boots were apparently made for sitting in my closet

2005-05-16

Where to start, where to start. How about with Survivor? I'm glad Tom won, though I did Not like how he was blaming all of his actions on Ian at the final tribal council thing. He was apologizing to the jury and saying he was "misled" by Ian, and blah blah blah, that was basically a lie. But I'm glad he won because he really earned it, and also because I did Not want that horrible Katie to win. She says it was her strategy to ride other people's coattails to the end, and I don't have a problem with that per se, but I just didn't like her personality; she was mean to people. Anyway, we only watched about half of the reunion show so far, and hopefully there'll be some big shocker in the second half, because who doesn't like a big shocker? Nobody I know, that's who.

This weekend was pretty laid back and enjoyable. On Saturday we took Boy and his friend to a movie--we dropped them off and went to REI and both got new shoes for walking and [don't laugh] running. I've never been a runner but I think I'd like to try it, though I cannot possibly try it until I find some better bras. Did you see (or read) Dune? If so, you know the contraption Baron Harkonnen wears to keep his immense body elevated? I need something like that for my boobies (I will not fear gravity; gravity is the boob killer). If you're a scientist, could you get right on that? Thanks! On Sunday we all three went to see Kingdom of Heaven, and I enjoyed it. I do Love a good spectacle, you know. The story was a little disjointed in places, but as far as epics go, it was pretty satisfying. I thought Orlando Bloom did a good job, and it was nice to see him in a [as Hiss might say] blokier role.

On Saturday afternoon, I remembered we'd left our new shoes in the car trunk, so I went outside to get them, but the second I stepped out, I locked eyes with Princess, who was on the other side of our yard. It was a bit of an awkward moment, since I haven't seen him in weeks, but then I asked him where he'd been, and he made his way through the plants to the front steps, and we had a nice long cuddle. After the cuddle, he laid down on our walkway and seemed to nap, while I kept a lookout for dogs and such, and then I went in and got the cat brush and brushed him. We have been reunited, and I'm sure I don't have to tell you that it feels so good. His male person wasn't around to give me a slitty-eyed glare for being nice to his cat, since he was carried out of his house on a stretcher by paramedics last Friday (per Francisco). I have no idea what's wrong with him, but Francisco didn't think he was in imminent danger, given the rather sedate speed of the paramedics as they took him away in the ambulance (or "bambalance", as Raybo would say). I also sort of don't care, to be honest; the slitty-eyed glares haven't exactly endeared that man to me.

Oh, but speaking of men in our culdesac, I have repeatedly forgotten to tell you about the man a few houses over who sits outside all day, every day (except when it's raining), smoking at a little cafe table in the front yard. I think he's living there with one of his adult children, because there's a couple who lives there also, with kids. I always forget he's sitting there in the front yard, and I do things like talking to cats and getting the mail in my pajamas. He's probably seen much weirder behavior during his lifetime, but at any rate, anything I do would be a diversion from the chain-smoking, and I'm always glad to help out.

I have to say, I'm a little pissed that the starlets are ruining cowboy boots. I've had a pair of boots [shut UP] for years and years which are actually very pretty in their booty way. I didn't want to get rid of them, because I figured cowboy boots would be back someday, but have you seen the pictures of boot-shod Britney, Lindsay Lohan, Jessica Simpson, etc? They're making cowboy boots look completely unwearable by a normal person! When they're finished with their little boot fad, the resulting backlash will make boots ten times as unfashionable as they previously were, and I'm not getting any younger. How long will it be until I can wear my boots without being scorned and derided? I'm not going to give up. I don't care if I have to wait until I'm old and withered--I WILL wear my boots again someday, even if I'm pairing them with a nightie and a wheelchair.

Have I told you how extremely argumentative the Boy has become? His burgeoning teenage testosterone is encouraging him to argue with us all the time, relentlessly. He's still a great kid, most of the time, but when he starts arguing it makes me tired and I begin daydreaming about when he'll go to college. Today I had the idea to call him 'Sharky' when he's in argumentative mode, and Francisco thinks it's a good idea because it will be a code word to alert the Boy that he's being a jackass. Not that it will probably matter to him, but whatever.

Last issue! I'm enjoying The Huffington Blog, particularly Greg Gutfeld. He is So Funny, and thank dog Arriana Huffington decided to get a mixed bag of people for her blog, because all politics, all the time would get boring. I'm sort of jealous and would like to be in on that blog, except there's no way I'd be as interesting as Greg Gutfeld, so never mind.

Going home now--Francisco is making Thai curry. Woo!

Love,
E |

cats-kittens

come over some time & see me - 2011-02-25
let's not say goodbye - 2011-02-23
the Rachel Zoe collection - 2011-02-10
I feel happy today - 2011-02-04
the tiny snow stalker - 2011-01-25

design by simplify