thank god there was no body cavity search

2002-11-09

Yesterday afternoon I went out and did some errands. I went to the post office and bought cat food and got my hair cut and went to the grocery store. At the grocery store I decided to use that $10 gift card I had won in the recent drawing, but lo and behold, it didn't work. And I got the distinct impression the cashier thought I might have stolen it, because it was not "activated". This pissed me off. That card is getting sent right back to HR (who gave it to me in the first place) with an icy letter thanking them for the humiliation. I wasn't even surprised it didn't work, actually, because nothing my employer does ever works, but it was still embarrassing to be under suspicion.

Right before that happened, when I was still in line, I became aware that the lady in front of me smelled exactly like my Great Aunt Ruby. And I was overcome by a feeling of loss all over again and had to fight off the tears and the desire to throw myself on the floor and wail. I always miss Ruby but it was weird that someone could smell like Ruby and not be Ruby. It floored me and I guess it's good I was under suspicion for theft immediately after that, because if that hadn't distracted me I would probably have been sad all day.

As it was I went home and showered and Tony came home with Boy because Tony's mom was at a retreat. The boys played and Francisco napped a little while I made dinner, and afterwards I worked on my sweater and watched some tv and looked through this amazing bead catalogue I got in the mail. I want to make jewelry this year for several people, and I need to order the beads and findings, but this catalogue has so many beads I'm having trouble choosing. I told Francisco I'm probably going to order way too many and he said okay. He's a good man and a great spouse & best friend. I hope he gets over his cold soon, because he is Miserable. At least he slept last night, for a long time.

That's about all I have to say right now except Get Well to all my interweb friends, because so many people are sick. It seems like cold season is starting early, but probably it's just the same as in previous years. I don't pay good attention to stuff like that.

Love,

E |

cats-kittens

come over some time & see me - 2011-02-25
let's not say goodbye - 2011-02-23
the Rachel Zoe collection - 2011-02-10
I feel happy today - 2011-02-04
the tiny snow stalker - 2011-01-25

design by simplify