last call for bare legs

2002-10-07

This weekend was a mixed bag. On the one hand, on Saturday Boy and I had a successful shopping trip, during which we purchased gifts for my mom's upcoming birthday, and a small gift for my coworker. This weekend we also saw two enjoyable movies--The Count of Monte Cristo and Bowfinger--thanks to Netflix, and we had good food. I also got to talk to my sister for a long time on Saturday night. On the other hand, my intestines were in an uproar of distress the whole weekend and are still annoyed today, so I didn't feel very good for most of the weekend, and that sucked. Too much information? Too bad. If I have to suffer, you have to suffer.

Oh I don't mean that. It's just the intestines talking.

In other weekend news, Francisco talked to Boy's mom on Friday evening, and it was yet another stalemate. Sometimes I want to give up on this adoption thing, because it's frustrating and seems hopeless, but I would like to be able to have the legal authority to say who should take care of Boy if something happens to me and Francisco. Legal guardians have no authority to specify a caretaker (in a will) and we would like to be able to do that. As it is, if Francisco and I were to die I Know there would be a very ugly legal battle over Boy, and I would rather that not happen. So we'll keep trying, but it's not looking very hopeful.

Also this weekend: Yesterday evening I made the cake and filling for my coworker's birthday tomorrow. Tonight I will assemble and frost the thing, and tomorrow it will be consumed. Ashes to ashes; dust to dust. Also, I decided to try and make a sweater, my first, and I bought yarn and the required needles and I've made a swatch for the gauge and I'm all set. It won't be a fabulous or overly beautiful sweater, because the pattern is basic and the yarn is acrylic, but it's a good sweater to start with. Yarn is something to gripe about, if I had the energy, because the only yarn at most craft-type stores is acrylic (you can find some cotton, but not much of a selection), but at the special yarn stores with the good wools and blends, it is So expensive. I looked at yarn at a nearby yarn store, and I could have easily spent more than $50 for yarn for the basic sweater, and it's tough to rationalize that when 1) this is a practice sweater and 2) I could buy a good sweater at TJ Maxx for way less than $50. TJ Maxx frequently makes it hard to justify craft products, damn them, but oh TJ Maxx, how can I stay mad at You?!

Another person I can't stay mad at is our cat, Esther, though I should surely be holding a grudge. Last night and Saturday night she had some middle of the night shenanigans with our bedroom table with the floor-length covering. It wasn't enough for Esther to claw her way under there on Saturday night; she also had to incorporate scratching the boxes under there and rustling the rustle-able things, for about 20 minutes. After I fished her out she commenced licking the coverlet (I hate that word) on our bed. It was a raspy, fingernails-on-chalkboard kind of sound--I nearly went insane. And last night she did an archaeological expedition under the covers--she tunneled and clawed her way, loudly, for several minutes, and then she went for the table and scratched her way under it. No rustling, thank god, because I think I would've snapped. Lucy rarely participates in this kind of thing, which is a blessing, because if they were both doing it I don't think I could take it.

Francisco and I went for a walk this morning. It was very dark out, and also foggy, so it should've been a walk fraught with fear, and intrigue, but it was just a normal walk. We petted a cat that came trotting out of a yard at us, in search of love and attention, and it was sort of funny because she was meowing and I could guess what she was saying. "Hey, oh thank god you stopped! I got shut out of my house again last night and I've been waiting for my people to get up and feed me, but they're still sleeping and I'm really not sure what to Do with myself. Thanks for scratching my ears--could you stick around for an hour or so?"

I'm not as obsessed with cats as it might seem.

It's looking like this might be our last really hot day; the last day of summer-like weather. I don't want to speak too soon, but the weather people seem to think tomorrow and all days following for awhile will be much cooler. Fall weather? Here? I thought it would never happen.

On Saturday my boss and his wife flew to Italy for 2 weeks. HA-ha! My boss is such an Ugly American, but I'll tell you, my money's on Italy. They broke me in less than 24 hours, and I'm pretty hardy.

Francisco is taking Boy to the doctor this afternoon, because he's still running the low-grade fever, so I guess they'll do a blood test and we'll find out if he has the mono or not. We aren't talking about the potential blood test with Boy, because we don't want him panicking in advance. There's no point in him getting worked up about it--he'll get worked up enough in the few minutes between the doctor announcing the blood test and the actual taking of the blood. Like most kids, he's afraid of needles. Maybe they can do the finger-poking thing instead; I had that done when I was in grade school and my doctor thought I might have mono. I almost threw up in his sink--hopefully Boy's experience will be much better, and I kind of hope he doesn't have the mono, but if he does at least we'll know what's wrong with him. Not knowing is pretty worrisome.

I'm very tired; today is shaping up to be a big Goof-Off day here at work. I've had a lot of those lately, but it's okay because this is our slow work time and there's not much to do anyway.

Wishing you a great day,

Love,

E |

cats-kittens

come over some time & see me - 2011-02-25
let's not say goodbye - 2011-02-23
the Rachel Zoe collection - 2011-02-10
I feel happy today - 2011-02-04
the tiny snow stalker - 2011-01-25

design by simplify