prize-winning bad haircut

2002-07-30

The next time I fly anywhere, I'm going to insist on smelling the pilot's breath before we take off, to make sure he's not drunk. I recommend you do the same.

That Traficant guy? Oh my god, he's a total nut. What I don't understand is how I didn't hear about him Before he was on trial, because he's said and done some really crazy, non-illegal things that should've made him news. Or maybe he was and I wasn't paying attention, but man. I'm kind of sorry he's going to jail, because I'd like to see more of him, for the haircut if nothing else. That is one bad haircut:

Recent quote from Dubya, our president, regarding the Senate welfare bill:

"Under the way they're kind of writing it right now out of the Senate Finance Committee, some people could spend their entire five years - there's a five-year work requirement - on welfare going to college. Now, that's not my view of helping people become independent and it's certainly not my view of understanding the importance of work and helping people achieve the dignity necessary so they can live a free life, free from government control."

I can't think of many better ways of helping people become independent of government control than by helping them get a college education so they can get a better job. Can you? Does Dubya think having people work low-wage jobs for 5 years will be better for their dignity and long-term independence? I cannot see where he's coming from, not even a little bit. Is he still calling himself the "education president"? Because clearly he is Not.

We watched the rest of The Godfather II last night, and let me tell you, it's a very good thing I'm not the head of a crime syndicate. If I could order the killing of anyone who displeased me? Dead bodies EVerywhere, starting with my boss. It would be a virtual bloodbath, especially right now when I have zero patience with people.

This afternoon my office had a surprise baby shower for a woman in the office who will be a grandmother next month. I'm not sure why my office has these weird parties, but it got me out of 2 hours of work, so it's fine by me. I really like the woman who the shower was for, so it was fun and she was very surprised.

That's all I've got today; it's a slow news day. I'm going home in a few minutes to hang out with the Boy while Francisco is at his Tuesday night gun-fest. I told Boy I'm going to make him clean his room so he better get ready to work, but really we're just going to have fun.

Love,

E |

cats-kittens

come over some time & see me - 2011-02-25
let's not say goodbye - 2011-02-23
the Rachel Zoe collection - 2011-02-10
I feel happy today - 2011-02-04
the tiny snow stalker - 2011-01-25

design by simplify