dare I try for insouciance?

2002-07-17

I'm feeling at least 34% better today, and once again my job is my bitch. Sometimes, like earlier this week, I feel that my job is sort of out of my control (and sometimes it is), and that's depressing. But I always manage to take charge again, like today, and then I feel better. I kick ass, in case you were wondering.

Do dates make everyone's mouth hurt or just mine? Because they are so sweet and delicious and I love them, but then the mouth pain. It's the same with bananas. I know I can't be the only one.

Since I'm working the flex time this week, tomorrow is my Friday, and I love that. I love that I only have to figure out what to wear to work 4 days this week and I love that I'll have an extra day to sleep in. Friday is going to be a beautiful day, no matter how hellishly hot it is outside. Which, if it's anything like today, it will be.

Can you believe it, my Peppers cd is Still not here! I'm starting to think maybe it arrived but was stolen from my mailbox or something. Because it was shipped almost a week ago--shouldn't that be long enough? I'm getting very disgruntled.

I've never said anything about Paris, and I figure I ought to, even though I don't really want to. The reason is...well...I didn't like as much as I expected to. It was Loud and perfumed at all times with the smell of used diesel, and aside for museums, shopping, and restaurants, there's not much to do. The museums were enjoyable (the Pompidou Center--modern art--was my favorite) but there is only so much time you can spend in museums before you're tired and cranky. And of course the restaurants were fabulous, but you can only eat so much in a day before your stomach explodes. With the shopping, if you're trying to travel light, then it's not something you really want to do either. I know Paris is many people's idea of heaven, and maybe if I lived there it would be different, but basically I just found it too stressful to be enjoyable for more than a couple days. Especially because I don't speak the French, which is my own fault, but still. The Metro was great, though--excellent public transportation. All big cities in the US should use Paris as their transportation example. LA, I'm looking at you.

I'm thrilled that it's Wednesday because West Wing is on tonight. I don't know what it is with that show, but I look forward to it all week. Did I mention I have a thing for Toby? Inexplicable but true. I am proclaiming Toby to be my Fictional Secret Imaginary Boyfriend. If he weren't fictional I would hope he'd find that amusing.

I think I'm out of practice with this updating thing, but I think this is better than yesterday. Baby steps...baby steps to lightheartedness.

Til tomorrow then,

Love,

E |

cats-kittens

come over some time & see me - 2011-02-25
let's not say goodbye - 2011-02-23
the Rachel Zoe collection - 2011-02-10
I feel happy today - 2011-02-04
the tiny snow stalker - 2011-01-25

design by simplify